A shining spotlight, a bumpdate and a Goodreads giveaway of The Big Smoke!

A shining spotlight… 

The wonderful Juliana Haygert has been kind enough to shine her author spotlight my way. Have you ever wondered what my nicknames are? Or maybe you’d like to know what I’m working on now? All is revealed in Juliana’s Author Spotlight!

Bumpdate 

It’s been a while since I’ve provided you with a bumpdate (read: pregnancy update), and seeing as I had my baby shower on the weekend, I figured now was the perfect time! I’m now 32.5 weeks pregnant and feeling a lot less mobile than usual. I had a wonderful baby shower on the weekend and have exactly 16 days of work left before I go on maternity leave (not that I’m counting ;)).

My ankles are swollen, I’ve been getting heaps of practice contractions, and I only have to walk 100 metres to feel like I’ve climbed a mountain, but all in all, everything is going really well. Can’t wait to meet our little girl!

A Goodreads giveaway!

On my travels throughout the blogosphere, I’ve heard many indie publishers say that Goodreads giveaways have helped them gain exposure for their books and generate excitement. So I figured: sounds awesome, I’ll jump on the bandwagon and give it a try!

This means I’m giving away two paperback copies of The Big Smoke to two lucky Goodreads members. If you’re keen to read The Big Smoke but haven’t had a chance yet,  make sure you enter the giveaway by 14 December (it’s free!).

Goodreads Book Giveaway

The Big Smoke by Cally Jackson

The Big Smoke

by Cally Jackson

Giveaway ends December 14, 2012.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter to win

How about you?

What’s happening in your world? Have you ever won a book from a Goodreads giveaway? Have you ever run one? What was your experience? Do share! 🙂

P.S. Next Tuesday will be one month since I launched The Big Smoke into the world. To mark the occasion, I’ll give you an update on what I’ve learnt so far since launching – no holds barred! Stay tuned…

9 Comments

Filed under Competitions, Personal, The Big Smoke, Writer interview, Writing

9 responses to “A shining spotlight, a bumpdate and a Goodreads giveaway of The Big Smoke!

  1. Looks like a lovely baby shower 🙂 Hard to believe how springy it looks when winter is coming fast here! And you look great for 32.5 weeks! So exciting that you only have 7.5 or so to go 🙂 I have hosted a couple GoodReads giveaways and had a good response (although I didn’t get reviews afterwards from the winners which I was hoping I would.) I have participated in a couple others but never won. Can’t wait to hear the no holds barred update!

  2. Looks like you had a great time. Enjoy!

    I wish I could have had as much maternity leave pre-baby. I worked a 12-hour shift my last day (39.5 weeks) and went into labor the next morning. hahaha I blame it on hubby. He knelt down and told my stomach, “Okay, baby. You can come out now.” 😀

  3. Arlee Bird

    I’ve never won any books from Goodreads, but I have won a few through blog contests–some that I’d forgotten about or didn’t realized I had entered. On a couple occasions I’ve received books in the mail with no notification on why they were sent or what blog they were associated with. It makes it kind of difficult to acknowledge in those cases. Make sure you remind the winners why they’re receiving the book just in case they are forgetful like me.

  4. You’re looking radiant for 32.5 weeks! Me, I’m getting cramps in my calf muscle a lot, especially first thing in the morning, which kinda deters me further from getting out of bed! 🙂 J.C. Jr is doing lots of kicking, too. I’m working part-time (3 days a week, roughly 5 h a day) up till the end of the month, and if I feel able might work all the way up to the X’mas break, but we’ll how it goes!

    I’ve done a Goodreads giveaway before, and you do get quite a few participants, even with minimal publicity, which I suppose is a good thing in terms of exposure for you and your book. Good luck with it!

  5. Love all the pink foods! Looks like it was a fun time 🙂

  6. Su Williams

    Cally, I would sure love to follow your sales on this. And is there a place, blog…that I can find your process from beginning to end. I read your blog post a week or so ago about choosing to self pub and I saved it in my archives. I suppose I should be more clear. Duh. At this time, I am trying the ‘traditional’ route of publishing. Ya know, agent queries, conference pitches… I’m considering self pub and am building a social network, trying to get people interested in my book, making connections with people in the industry…which is how I found you. I’m just curious how you built an audience, what social formats you used and how you linked them, what kind of people did you connect with to get this far. Those kinds of things. If it’s in a blog or blog posts somewhere, I’d love to take a look if you can send me the links. I’m not sure how busy you are (and about to get busier with the new bebe soon) but I’m always looking for people who I can reach out to for help.

    So…32.5 weeks! Holy crow! Coming soon. So exciting to have a new bebe in the house. I’m here if you need anything or have any questions. I’ve had 4 of my own so I kinda have a clue. Always willing to help.

    I entered your Good Reads giveaway, but if I don’t win I will still purchase a copy of The Big Smoke. It sounds intriguing. I got a critique of a partial on my novel Dream Weaver. The editor called it ‘a powerful read, atmospheric and dark. Your style packs a punch and your imagery is original and powerful.’ Wow. I loved hearing those words.

    Let me know if you can help. Thanks and good luck over the next few weeks. Dare to Dream Su

    ________________________________

  7. That’s a cool giveaway!

  8. Oh great! Can’t wait to learn what you’ve learned. And you are almost at the grand finish line. I remember during both my pregnancies at the 32 week mark, it couldn’t come fast enough. I was so uncomfortable!!

What do you think?

