Less than a week till The Big Smoke book launch!

I can’t believe that The Big Smoke launch date has come up so quickly! I’ve got so much planned that I’m beside myself with excitement (and perhaps a touch stressed as well)!

Book launch

The first big event is on this Saturday 27 October –  my real-life, physical book launch! About 60 people are coming, and all of them have supported the creation of The Big Smoke in some way, whether they’ve been beta readers, members of my novel writers group, or good old friends and family cheering me on from the sidelines.

The launch is going to be pretty casual but I do have a few things planned, including some readings from the book, a question-and-answer session, and a giant cake with 11 candles – one for every year it’s taken me to produce the book!

Blog tour

Then, next Monday, the craziness really begins! Monday kicks off both my blog tour and my blogfest. From Monday 29 October to Monday 12 November, I’ll be guest posting or being interviewed on a different blogging buddy’s slice of cyberspace. Here’s the line-up:

  • Monday 29 October – Michael Offutt – mental illness in fiction
  • Tuesday 30 October – Rachel Morgan Writes – character interview with Seb
  • Wednesday 31 October – Rebecca Enzor – the joys and frustrations of beta-reader feedback
  • Thursday 1 November – Bailey is writing – interview about writing The Big Smoke, self publishing and my characters’ most irrational fears
  • Friday 2 November – Melissa Maygrove  – interview about my inspiration for The Big Smoke, my writing space and my advice for new writers
  • Monday 5 November – Seeking the Write Life – the best writing-related decision I’ve ever made
  • Tuesday 6 November – Steph Bowe – using real experiences as a platform for fiction
  • Wednesday 7 November – Charity: My Writing Journey – the soundtrack to The Big Smoke
  • Thursday 8 November – The Eagle’s Aerial Perspective – the link between romance and happiness in fiction
  • Friday 9 November – Laura J Moss – interview about my road to self-publishing
  • Saturday 10 November – Laura Howard: Finding Bliss – ‘six questions’ interview about the writing lessons I’ve learned and my top three favourite books
  • Monday 12 November – Arlee Bird: Tossing it Out – is it possible/advisable to write from the point of view of the opposite sex?

In case you’re wondering, I haven’t actually finished writing all of these posts yet – that’s partly where that ‘stress’ I mentioned earlier comes in! But I’m thrilled to be appearing on so many wonderful blogs and to get the opportunity to share my thoughts on so many interesting topics. I hope you’ll follow me around the blogosphere and visit the awesome bloggers who are hosting me!

Blogfest

Most of you would have already heard about this by now, so I’ll keep this part brief.  To celebrate the official launch of The Big Smoke, I’ll be hosting a blogfest called The Year I Turned 18 from Monday 29 October to Friday 2 November. Seeing as both Ceara and Seb (the two main characters) turn 18 throughout the story, I thought it might be fun for us all to post about the year we turned 18. All entries will receive a coupon to download an e-copy of The Big Smoke from Smashwords for 99 cents (down from $4.99) and will go into the draw to win a $20 Amazon voucher.

I decided that my badge for the blogfest was a bit boring so I snazzed it up a little. Here’s the new one:

To find out more about the blogfest, go to my The Year I Turned 18 Blogfest post.

Total craziness!

… So yeah, there’s a bit coming up in the next few weeks. Oh, and did I mention I’m 28 weeks pregnant?

Babymoon on Fraser Island

My dear husband Mark is getting a little antsy about when we’re going to get the nursery sorted, and I keep saying, ‘after the book launch’, so I can’t see things slowing down for me for a little while. But you know what? I love it! Can’t wait to share this crazy ride with you!! 🙂

How about you?

What are you up to? Which blog tour post are you most looking forward to reading? Are you already sick of hearing about The Big Smoke (I hope not!)?

14 Comments

Filed under Blogfests, The Big Smoke, Writing

14 responses to “Less than a week till The Big Smoke book launch!

  1. *squee* I’m so excited for you! I have most of my blogfest post written and I even found a few pictures. *cringe*

    Love the baby moon by the way! You look so cute!

  2. Looking forward to following your tour.

  3. Looks like an exciting blog tour! Can’t wait. Also, hope you had fun on your babymoon.

  4. Congrats on the book coming out soon! The blog tour sounds like a lot of fun. 🙂

  5. Robyn Martin

    All of the blog posts look interesting but I think the highlight for me will be the good old fashioned book launch on Saturday. Can’t wait to have my own copy in my hands.

  6. I’m so excited to be a part of this! Can’t wait!!! 😀

    Ooo. 28 weeks. That’s a milestone. Being a neo nurse, I breathed a little easier after hitting that mark both times. Best of luck with the other 12! 🙂

  7. Aw, I really wish I could be there at your REAL LIFE book launch!

  8. touchwooddesign

    Good luck Cally! How exciting!

  9. Oh, wow, that is going by fast!
    And congrats on your pregnancy!

  10. You have so many awesome things coming up! I’m really excited for your blog tour 🙂 And that’s such a cute picture!

  11. That’s a nice sized book launch! It’s going to be so awesome for you. You’ve got some nice stops on your blog tour, as well. Being on a blog tour right now myself, I know how stressful it can be thinking about all the posts you have to write. You’ll get through it! I know I’ll be seeing you all over the place:)

  12. Wow! You are busy busy!! Everything looks great! And fun! 🙂

What do you think?

