Patience is not one of my strong points

I’ve never been a particularly patient person. As a child, I’d always go hunting for my birthday presents ahead of time. Invariably, I’d find them hidden in Mum’s cupboard and be disappointed that I hadn’t waited for the special day.

Considering my track record, it’s no surprise that I’m chomping at the bit to just get my book, The Big Smoke, out there already!

At the moment, I’m working on a cover design with a great artist, and, after a bit of hunting, I’ve found an editor who seems to ‘get’ the novel’s voice and who I’m looking forward to working with.

Really, things are going along quite well. But… I hate waiting. After providing feedback on a version of the cover, I hate the idle time before I get the next version. And I hate the idea of waiting for weeks on end for my editor’s feedback.

Ugh, I’m so impatient. It’s not a good trait, I know. Quality takes time, and I am prepared to wait to get it right. I just wish I didn’t have to. I wish it’d magically happen overnight. But it’s important to me that the final product is as polished and professional as possible, so wait I will. *Exaggerated sigh*

Question for you, though. Is now the time to send out Advanced Review Copies (ARCs)? Some of the novel’s wording will obviously change through the editing process, but the plot is set. I’m hoping the book will be ready for release by October – so is now a good time to get that review ball rolling? Or should I wait for the copy edit to be finished? If it’s too early and I’m just letting my enthusiasm get the better of me, feel free to say so!

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

Hurry up and comment already. I’m impatient, remember? 😉

19 Comments

Filed under Self publishing, The Big Smoke

19 responses to “Patience is not one of my strong points

  1. Personally, I think you want your ARC’s as polished and professional as the final product. That is what ARC’s are after all – advanced reader copies. They are copies of what the end-reader will read. If you have an editor helping, I’d wait and make use of that. Then when your reviews come through you won’t ever have to wonder if they would have loved it even MORE if you’d waited.

  2. The best things come to those who wait. Find a place of solitude within you and learn to just be patient. I know it’s hard, but you need to give the professionals enough time to do your work the justice that it deserves.

  3. Settle Petal, you really really don’t want that thing out there being reviewed until after your editor has had a shot at it. I know I’m a fine one to talk but you also know that I’ve learned that lesson the hard (embarrassing) way! If the editor is worth his/her salt you’ll be sending something out that definitely isn’t as good as the final product. Put the haste in your pocket and you won’t have to put your pride in there later.

  4. I have to agree to wait even though it sucks, sucks, SUCKS to wait! But soon you’ll have editor feedback and then the reviewing can kick off and then before you know it, your book will be out! Just try to be patient until then. Wine might help. 😉

  5. danquantin

    Here’s what Yoda has to say about patience and recklessness: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kvr_t05oaRw

  6. The Golden Eagle

    It must be frustrating to have to wait for so much to be done! I’d also agree, though, that sending out ARCs after the book has been edited might work better; just my two cents.

  7. I understand your impatient, I REALLY do! I was there! But you probably want a more polished version for people to read, otherwise they may mention the typos and missing words and stuff in their reviews and readers may forget they’re reading a review of an ARC and not a final version.

    I’ve been happy to ignore things like the missing words and commas while reading The Big Smoke because I know you have a good editor who will fix up all that stuff. So I’ve just been enjoying the actual story. But you’d rather give most reviewers as polished a version as possible.

    But I’d be happy to put a review up when I’m finished reading and not wait till October (just to help with your impatience) 😉

  8. Oops, first line should have been “impatience”, not “impatient”!

  9. pk hrezo

    I know all about impatience. But I have to agree that now is not the time for it. Make sure you get the best possible product out there and cover all your bases. How exciting!!

  10. I’m not this far along in my publishing path yet, but it makes sense to wait with the ARCs until the copy edits are done. Otherwise the comments you’ll get back might be all about the lack of editing, which would make them pretty useless.

    Good luck with the wait! Patience is a difficult thing to practice. 🙂

  11. Pingback: Some very exciting personal news! | Cally Jackson Writes

  12. Pingback: Revised book blurb | Cally Jackson Writes

  13. Pingback: Indie publishing update – and the seven p’s of marketing | Cally Jackson Writes

What do you think?

