Games and awards!

Hello there! How are you on this fine Wednesday evening (or morning, depending on where in the world you’re located!)? It’s getting colder here in Brisbane and I think tonight will be the first night this year we’ll pull the doona out (doona is Aussie-speak for duvet. Do any other countries use doona?).

I hope you all had a wonderful Easter. We had a fantastic weekend up at Noosa on the Sunshine Coast, where we spent time at the beach, bushwalking, fishing (him) and reading (her). As an aside, I’ve just noticed something interesting. We Aussies like our double oo’s. Let me illustrate: “Now that we have returned from Noosa to our home in Moorooka, we need to pull out the doona.” 😀

Anyway, moving on! I’ve been lucky enough to be tagged in a blog game and be given a blog award in recent weeks. So now it’s my turn to play and pass on the love!

First up, my awesome blogging friend and beta reader Laura J Moss tagged me in the Lucky Number 7 blog game.

The rules are:

  1. Go to page 77 of your current MS.
  2. Go to line 7.
  3. Copy down the next seven lines or sentences and paste them as they’re written.
  4. Tag seven other writers to play the game.

So here goes. This is from my novel-in-progress The Big Smoke, which I’m currently editing in response to some beta reader feedback.

“I was feeling pretty friggen stressed by the time I finally sent Lara a message, asking her out to dinner that Friday. Ten minutes later, I got a message. But it wasn’t her. It was Luke checking if we had milk.

I should’ve known it wouldn’t be her. As if she’d go out with me. Just because she’d said she would in the bathroom, that didn’t mean anything. After all, she’d been pretty wasted. For the next few hours, I glanced at my phone every two seconds and felt like a loser every time.

That’s seven lines on my screen. Depending on your screen resolution, it may be more or less on yours.
.
The seven writers I’m tagging to play are people who regularly comment on my blog:
Thanks for all the awesome comments, guys. Each one brightens my day!
.
Secondly, Koren and Alana – my funky friends over at No Food With a Face – have given me the Versatile Bloggers Award. Awww, thanks guys! Vegan cupcakes are coming your way (bought, because I don’t bake)!
.
Part of the deal with this award is I have to tell you seven things about myself (fits in with Lucky Number 7!), and pass the award on to 15 bloggers with awesome blogs.  So, seven things. Hmmm….
.
  1. My favourite food is vegetarian laksa.
  2. I’m passionate about sustainability and animal rights. Unfortunately, I can’t completely kick my meat addiction, so I only eat sustainable seafood and organic free range chicken.
  3. When I was a child, I was obsessed with Michael Jackson. When I was a month shy of 21, I married a wonderful man called Mark Jackson (coincidence?). We’ve been married for almost eight years now.
  4. When I was a teenager, I was convinced I was going to marry Leonardo DiCaprio.
  5. I have a panic disorder, but I manage it through emotional acceptance and cognitive behaviour therapies and am currently well and happy (I’m revealing this in the spirit of the change our minds about mental illness campaign).
  6. I grew up on 40 acres of bushland outside a small country town called Gatton in Queensland, Australia.
  7. The first person to subscribe to this blog was my mum. Embarrassing but sweet. 🙂
So, now onto the 15 people who win this award from me! I nominate  the seven bloggers above and:
 All of these people have awesome blogs. If you don’t already follow them, go check them out immediately! 🙂
8 Comments

Filed under Writing

8 responses to “Games and awards!

  1. I don’t have a doona, and where I live I hope we’re not too far from taking the heavy quilt off the bed! Thanks so much for the tag and award, Cally! Glad you gad a nice Easter weekend 🙂

    • You’re welcome! I wish we were pulling the doona off rather than putting it on but I guess winter’s got to come sometime. And if you knew the temps here, you’d probably be wondering why we need it at all! 🙂

  2. I bet you have a great accent. Most accents sound way better than my southern drawl by the way.
    Thanks for the award and the mention. I added your name to my award link page. I think I’ll have to revisit this award since it has been a while since I did it last.

    • You’re welcome! I’ll have to do a video blog one day so you can hear my accent. Not sure that it’s great, but it’s me! I love watching other bloggers’ vlogs and hearing all the different accents. 🙂

  3. It’s starting to get warmer around her in the northern hemisphere. I’d never heard of a doona before you mentioned it. Thanks for the tag. I’m knee deep in A to Z but I will try to get to this eventually.

  4. I remember exactly what it feels like to keep checking your phone for a message from That Person You Really Like! Great excerpt! And sorry for not coming over here sooner after you told me I was tagged!

  5. Great excerpt. I remember obessively checking my phone as well, wondering when “he” would call, whoever he happened to be that month 🙂

    Congrats on the award and congratulations to all the other winners.

What do you think?

