Insecure Writers Support Group: meh

Insecure Writers Support Group Badge

"Let's rock the neurotic writing world!" Alex J Cavanaugh

It’s time for this month’s Insecure Writers’ Support Group post, and I must admit, it took me a while to decide what to post about. Not because I couldn’t think of topics, but because I was struggling to summon the motivation to write a post. Just like I’ve been struggling to go through my beta readers’ comments and decide what comments to take on board. I’m totally excited about finishing the edits, I’m just not that pumped about actually doing them. Hence, my headline: meh.

I know I’ll come out of this slump and get back into my writing groove, but I also know it will take some hard work to get there. Because, in my experience, the only way out is through. Meaning, the only way I’ll get motivated again is by continuing to chip away until my mojo returns. Because, as someone famous once said, success is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration.

In saying that, I’m keen to know if you have any hints or tips for other ways to get out of a motivation slump, both with blogging and with writing. Who knows, maybe I’ll summon the motivation to try one of them! ๐Ÿ˜‰

P.S. Donโ€™t forget to support other insecure writers!

P.P.S. If you haven’t read my Creepy Hollow launch post yet, make sure you do – it’s spruiking Rachel Morgan‘s truly awesome novelette!

P.P.S. In totally un-related news, I’ve got a guest post on my friends Koren and Alana’s blog, Food Without a Face. If you like the sound of Asian dumpling, veg and noodle soup, go check out my very own (adapted) recipe!

15 Comments

Filed under Insecure Writers Support Group, motivation, Writers, Writing

15 responses to “Insecure Writers Support Group: meh

  1. I wish I knew the answer to getting out of slumps. Unfortunately, I don’t. My method is to just keep plodding and eventually you come out the other side. Sometimes writing becomes easier, sometimes people make things seem better, sometimes spring comes ๐Ÿ™‚ Just remember, you’re not alone. All writers struggle with this at least sometimes. Hang in there! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hmm… Well, this may sound like a TERRIBLE idea to you (!) but I think that to help get you out of your blogging slump you should do the A to Z Challenge. Wait, wait, wait! Don’t run away screaming! I’m serious. Even if you just posted ONE WORD on some of the days. At least it’s something to get you blogging again. Even if you post about completely random stuff. That’s what I did last year. I didn’t talk much about writing/books/authors/publishing (my normal topics), I just went RANDOM and it was quite liberating! I made a stop-frame animation video, posted the definitions of weird words starting with H, videoed myself playing the flute… and other stuff I can’t remember! Seriously. Think about it.
    (Or maybe you’ve signed up already and I’m preaching to the choir!)

    PS. Thanks for visiting my guest post at Sarah’s today ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks for the suggestion. Let me think about it…. NO WAY!!! hehehe. You were right when you suspected I might run away screaming. I admire all those that do the A-Z challenge but it’s totally not my thing. I’m just not interested in blogging every day. I do appreciate the suggestion though! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. “Because, in my experience, the only way out is through.” so very true! It can be tough to accept sometimes, though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I have a novel out with beta readers. I haven’t gotten feedback from it. But I’m anticipating the comments and sorting through them one at a time to see if they are issues I can address.

  5. Hmmm… Take a break. Set a deadline. Make a plan. Clean the bathroom. Set an interim goal. Do it first. Do some other things first. Go shopping. Work out what suits you and don’t take anybody else’s advice!

  6. I tend to write random pieces of flash fiction when I’m in a slump. Then they end up filed away, never to be looked at again.

  7. I’m in a bit of a slump myself right now–you’re right, you have to move on through them, though it’s unpleasant to. I usually try writing whatever comes to mind, regardless of whether I think it will turn into something in the long-term or not. At least it’s some kind of writing!

  8. I think the solution depends on what is causing the slump which is sometimes hard to figure out. Also, I agree with the Golden Eagle about letting yourself write whatever comes to mind. It takes the pressure off focusing on the outcome, which can sometimes help. Good luck!

  9. Pingback: The beauty of subjectivity | Cally Jackson Writes

What do you think?

