Australian Women Writers 2012 Challenge

Australian Women Writers ChallengeWhile surfing the blogosphere recently, I came across something called the Australian Women Writers 2012 Challenge. As an Australian woman writer, I was naturally quite curious about what this challenge entailed. Turns out it’s something right up my alley!

The Australian Women Writers Challenge is actually a reading challenge. It invites us to a year of encountering the best of Australian women’s writing – an invitation I accept! The goal of the challenge is “to counteract the gender bias in reviewing and social media news feeds that has continued throughout 2011.”

Now, I have to be honest with you – I haven’t actually noticed this bias myself, but I haven’t been paying much attention either. And I’m more than happy to take up the challenge to read more Australian women’s literature. After all, I’m hoping to add my own masterpiece to that selection of books soon!

The challenge has several levels, with options for the most casual reader to options for those who plough through books like reading is going out of fashion. I am shooting for the middle: the Miles Dabbler. This means I will read six books by Australian women authors, review at least three of them, and dabble between genres.

I haven’t come up with my whole book list yet (I want to leave it open for books that jump out and grab me), but here are a few that I’d like to read:

How about you? Have you set yourself any reading challenges this year? Fancy joining the Australian Women Writers Challenge yourself (open to non-Aussies and males – all welcome!)?

21 Comments

Filed under Authors, Writing

21 responses to “Australian Women Writers 2012 Challenge

  1. I think I read about five fiction books last year – and a whole lot of non-fiction! (Considering I read 800 fiction books in a reading challenge in my first year of high school, that’s pretty bad.) Let’s see if I can do better this year…

  2. What a great idea! And the three you chose all look very appealing to me. I’ll look forward to your reviews so I’ll know whether to read them or not 🙂

  3. What a great challenge! I’m looking forward to your reviews.

  4. Cool! A challenge where you get to READ! Just from the genres you’ve listed in brackets, those three look like books I’d enjoy reading.
    I have no specific reading challenges this year (although, getting through my Kindle unread list should be my challenge – I seem to have accumulated ebooks quite rapidly!!).

  5. I’ve heard about this before, and my first proper read of the year is by an Australian woman author!!

  6. That sounds like an awesome challenge – enjoy! I don’t set myself reading challenges, but I’m the kind of person who can’t ever be without a book, so I read plenty. I like to read what jumps out at me, too. Can’t wait for you to add to the selection!

  7. I haven’t noticed a bias on social media either. Maybe I’m just not paying enough attention. Sounds like a great challenge. I read before bed most nights. Helps me fall asleep.

  8. Great challenge! I would love to have more time to read! 🙂

  9. Yep i saw this on Jess Bell’s blog. It’s such a great challenge! I keep telling myself I’m gonna take a year off writing and just read non stop… all those books on my TBR list.

  10. It’s wonderful to see such a positive response to the Challenge. Who knows what we can all achieve by enhancing the profile of our women writers?

  11. Pingback: Book review – The Reformed Vampires Support Group | Cally Jackson Writes

What do you think?

