Past the halfway mark

Finally! I’ve passed the halfway mark in my edit of Part Three of The Big Smoke. It’s been a real slog, this last part. Much harder than the first two.

Yuck!

I should’ve expected it, really. When I was writing parts one and two, I went back and edited frequently. But with Part Three, I ploughed ahead regardless of the rubbish that came out. So, naturally, the standard of writing isn’t quite the same. Thankfully, amongst the rubbish, there are some gems. It’s just a matter of putting a peg on my nose and sorting through the awful stuff to find them.

I’m pretty happy with the passages that are emerging, but the editing process is taking much longer than I’d anticipated. At this stage, I’m thinking my goal of having Part Three ready for my beta readers by 5 December is a little ambitious. After all, that’s only two weeks away and I’ll definitely need to do another proofread before I send it off. With all of the changes I’ve been making, I’m sure the writing is littered with typos. And nobody wants to read that!

I’m hoping that another week will be enough and I’ll be able to distribute Part Three by 12 December, but time will tell whether that’s achievable. To give myself the best shot, I think I need to stick to one blog post a week until Part Three is complete. But don’t be glum, I have another crazy awesome picture to make up for my lack of posts…

80s bogans!

Yep, we get invited to a lot of fancy dress parties… heaps of fun! πŸ™‚

How about you? How are you going against your goals and deadlines?

15 Comments

Filed under Beta readers, Progress update, Tangled

15 responses to “Past the halfway mark

  1. You guys certainly know how to dress πŸ™‚

    I can’t keep up with my goals and deadlines either – too much to do and not enough time! Good luck with getting done by Dec. 12 (because I’m looking forward to reading the whole thing after that round of edits and beta reading :))

    • Yep, definitely too much to do and not enough time. Or maybe just over-ambitious goals given the time available! πŸ™‚

      I’ve got my fingers crossed I can do it by 12 Dec though!

  2. I’m doing nano and so far have stayed on track with writing goals, but I remember being where you’re at with my first manuscript. It’s hard going. I hope you make your date!

  3. I had this idea that I was going to do NaNo and edit my previous story at the same time – that lasted two days πŸ™‚

  4. Hahaha! I like Sarah Pearson’s comment!
    You should take some “sick” days off work. That might help πŸ˜‰
    PS. Gorgeous wigs. The blonde one is especially fetching πŸ˜‰

    • Hehehe. The problem with that idea is I’ve been (legitimately) sick a few times this year and hardly have any sick leave left! Doh!

      And yes, the blonde wig is quite pretty, isn’t it? πŸ˜‰

  5. Vicki Tremper

    Well, you know I’ve met my goal, but now I hardly know what to do with myself. LOL. I will say that I struggled through the beginning of my NaNo novel, and then I pushed through and struggled again at the end. But they were different issues. I always do this with the end – I procrastinate, almost like I’m afraid to finish. But, realizing how ridiculous that seems, I don’t procrastinate for long. Good luck slogging through the end of your editing! You can do it!

    • I understand that fear of finishing. But I’m so happy that you pushed through it and did so well with nano! I’m about to start editing for the evening – fingers crossed I have a productive two hours! πŸ™‚

  6. Great wig! That picture more than makes up for a blog post. Congratulations on passing the halfway mark!

  7. It’s so hard to find the time to do both, isn’t it! Congrats on getting so far with your edits, and best of luck finishing them off so you can get the ms to your beta readers πŸ™‚ Love the pikkie *grins*

    Hugs,

    Rach

  8. Pingback: Beta readers: a change of plan | Cally Jackson Writes

What do you think?

