A new working title!

You’ll have to forgive me. I’m a bit grumpy tonight. On my way home from work, I missed my normal train and unthinkingly got on the next one, not realising it was express. I was listening to my iPod and reading blogs on my mobile, so I missed all the warnings and only realised there was a problem when we starting sailing past stations. I watched out the window as we flew past mine. And the next 12. Yes, that’s right, the train didn’t stop for another 12 stations. So a 30-minute one-way train trip turned into a 90-minute return train trip. Yes, it was completely my fault but still. Frustrating much?! GAH!!!!

Okay, I feel better now. Thanks for letting me vent. Moving on…

You may have noticed I didn’t post last night even though Sunday is my regular posting night. I blame Suzanne Collins for that. If she hadn’t made The Hunger Games so ridiculously addictive and unputdownable, I would have put it aside and kept to my schedule.

But hey, I’m a writer. And I write because I love stories. And The Hunger Games is one damn impressive story. I’ll do a proper review of it soon, but let me just say this – if you’re a bit slow on the uptake like me and haven’t yet read The Hunger Games, remedy that immediately. You won’t be disappointed.

Loving my new toy!

And to make the reading experience all the more exciting, it was the first book I’ve read on my new Kindle. Squeee! I’ve been umm’ing and ahh’ing about whether to buy a Kindle for a while now, and so when some wonderful girlfriends bought me a sizeable Amazon gift voucher for my birthday, I knew the time had come. I was worried that I wouldn’t like reading on a Kindle but I love it. LOVE it. I’ll do a full post about my thoughts once I’ve read a few more books on it. Stay tuned…

By now you’re probably wondering what the heck my headline has to do with this post. Perhaps I’ve left the most exciting news till last. I have a new working title for my novel-in-progress!

As my regular readers know, I love my previous working title, Tangled, but I believe that Disney has spoiled it for me. So, after a lengthy conversation at work with my awesome colleagues Laura and Joe, I’ve changed the title to… The Big Smoke! I really like it for a number of reasons, but I don’t want to tell you what they are because I’d rather hear what you think without skewing your judgement. So…. what do you think? Love it? Hate it? Indifferent? What does it tell you about the book?

I sent Part 2 of said novel-in-progress off to my beta readers yesterday and I’m looking forward to their feedback on the new title and of course the 43,000-odd words they’ll be reading. They’ve already given me some wonderful, insightful feedback on Part 1, which is helping to guide me as I go forth and edit Part 3. Not far to go now!

So yeah, that’s me this week. What’s happening in your world? And don’t forget to tell me what you think of The Big Smoke as a title!

31 Comments

Filed under Beta readers, Progress update, Tangled

31 responses to “A new working title!

  1. I’ve heard nothing but good things about “The Hunger Games” and am looking forward to reading them…One day!

  2. Teena Lee Dawkins

    Hi Cal
    shame Disney spoiled yr prev title. Love ‘the big smoke’… Fantastic
    what wld yr cover illustration be?
    Good luck with the editing : )
    teena

  3. Woot! I love the new title. Definitely not linked to Disney as far as I know. πŸ˜‰

    Loved the Hunger Games. It was one of those reads that you just keep thinking about for days after you finish.

    • Hahaha no, not linked to Disney as yet. If they make a movie with that title, I think I’ll scream!

      I agree that The Hunger Games makes you think for ages afterwards. I can’t wait to read the next two books and find out what happens now they’re back home. And will she choose Peeta or Gale… So much intrigue!

  4. LOVED The Hunger Games Trilogy!
    Can’t wait to hear all about how much and why you love your Kindle – I’m still on the fence…
    Can’t decide about the new title – it seems so different from the old one, and I don’t know enough of the story, I guess, to know how well it fits. But it *sounds* good.
    I’m signing up for PiBoIdMo for November, and doing the Choose Your own Adventure Blogfest today – that’s me πŸ™‚

    • I’ll definitely do a post about the Kindle in the future, but I have two paper books to read (including The Preacher’s Bride when it arrives) so between that and all my editing, it might be a while before I can use my Kindle again!

      You’re right, the new title is very different to the old one. Glad you like the sound of it generally though. You can let me know whether you think it fits when you read the book in December! πŸ˜€

      The Choose Your Own Adventure Bloghop sounds like heaps of fun. I’m definitely going to read through it when I get a chance. And what’s PiBoldMo? My guess is Picture Book Month, but I’m not sure on the ‘ld’ or what it would entail?

      • PiBoIdMo is Picture Book Idea Month, where you’re supposed to think up a picture book idea a day for the month of November. It’s the brain child of Tara Lazar. There’s a button on the right side of my blog that will take you to all the info, but it’s really fun – I did it last year. I know it’s not exactly your area though πŸ™‚

  5. I love the title. I think you were right to drop the previous one. Rightly or wrongly, it could affect people searching for a new book and assuming that yours is just some Disney tie-in.

  6. Cally,
    Feel the same about a Kindle, thinking about it. I almost bought one, but my hubby said that’s what he’s planning on giving me for Christmas ( big surprise,we’re married forty years).
    Congratulations you are so far along with your novel. I attended a FWA writer’s conference this past weekend. The talk is don’t worry about the title, the publisher decides. Takes all the fun out of it, right?
    “The Big Smoke” I like it…just saying

    • I bet a lot of people will be getting Kindles for Christmas. And the boom of e-book sales will continue to grow…

      I know what you mean about publishers choosing the title, but I’m leaning towards self publishing which means the publisher will be me! Haven’t completely decided yet though. We’ll see…

      Glad you like The Big Smoke. It’s exciting to hear that people are connecting with it as a title. πŸ™‚

  7. Hey Cally, shame about the train trip! I’m not sold on the Kindle idea so will be very interested to read your thoughts. And good choice with the new working title – it puts a strong Australian stamp on the story. Growing up in the country, we always referred to Brisbane as “The Big Smoke”…

    • I wasn’t sold on the idea of a Kindle for ages but now that I’ve got one, I love it. I’ll definitely share my thoughts on it soon.

      I’m so glad you like the new working title. It’s great to get positive feedback on it. We referred to Brisbane as The Big Smoke too and that’s exactly what the title is supposed to get across – country people referring to the city. πŸ˜€

  8. Funny about missing your stop! No biggie, tho. At least you were entertaining yourself. And congrats on the kindle! Don’t you love it?? So much fun. And you’re right about HG. I read it in May coming back from Europe and couldn’t put it down the entire flight. It’s gripping til the very end. I’ve analyzed it again and again trying to figure out Collins’ secret recipe there. πŸ˜‰
    So I read your blurb on your WIP and I think The Big Smoke can work. At first, it conjurs up a western cowboy idea. But after reading your blurb, it changes the tune quickly. It has a certain mystery about it. I like it!

    • You’re right about the trip. It was a pain at the time but no big deal in the scheme of things.

      I’m definitely planning to go back and dissect The Hunger Games. I think one of the key reasons it’s so gripping is the appalling but fascinating premise. It’s like a car crash, you don’t want to look but you can’t look away.

      It’s great to hear you think The Big Smoke is workable. And mysterious too. I like that. A bit of mystery is always good. πŸ˜‰

  9. Amy

    Love, The Big Smoke, as the title! πŸ™‚

  10. Vicki Tremper

    I loved the whole trilogy – definitely unputdownable! The Big Smoke is intriguing, but I’d need a pitch to really judge, because it doesn’t sound anything like Tangled. Good luck!

  11. The Big Smoke is definitely more evocative as a title. I was never sold on Tangled.

    I’ve already made the decision to not read Hunger Games. I’m just not interested in more dystopian crap. Yeah, I think it’s crap. And I’ve heard from trusted and critcial readers that her writing is actually kind of crap, too. She may have a great story, but the setting turns me off as does the love triangle. Just totally not interested in that. I’m sure it’s a guy thing.
    Now that I think of it, I haven’t heard of a single guy singing its praises. It’s all been women.

    • That’s very interesting. Come to think of it, I’ve only heard women’s opinions of The Hunger Games too. Obviously I completely disagree with you that it’s crap, but I love dystopian and quite enjoy a good love triangle so clearly we have different tastes.

      I’ve scrolled through the reviews of THG on Good Reads and there are a few good reviews of the book by men, but who knows if they have the same taste as you. I’ve told my husband that he should read it, so if he does, I’ll let you know what he thinks!

      Glad you like The Big Smoke as a title. πŸ™‚

      • I’m not saying the love triangle part is crap. I get that part; I’m just not into that as a motivation for reading something.
        The dystopian bit is what I’m saying is crap. It’s probably from all the post-apocalyptic stuff from the 80s, though. Dystopian is just a new name for that, so I’ve seen it all done before, and I’m just not interested in delving into that anymore.

  12. Pingback: Book review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins | Cally Jackson Writes

  13. I love your new title! Too bad Disney spoiled the last one, but the new one sounds intriguing!

  14. I saw the words “The Big Smoke (WIP)” at the top of your blog and was like, huh? What’s that? What happened to Tangled? Then I found this post! What an intriguing title!

  15. Pingback: Why I love my Kindle | Cally Jackson Writes

What do you think?

