Finding balance

For the past two weeks I’ve been a lady of leisure, on holidays from work and the day-to-day hustle and bustle. I spent the first ten days road tripping around northern New South Wales and Sydney with my delightful husband (heaps of fun). I then spent the remainder of my holidays at home with a husband with man-flu (not so fun).

In case you’re interested, here are a couple of photos from our time in Sydney.

In front of the opera house

In front of the opera house

The Gap

The Gap, Watsons Bay

One of the best things about road tripping (apart from the scenery), was that I could edit along the way – when I was the passenger, not the driver, obviously! One of the only good things about being on holidays with a husband with man flu was plenty of time at home, which I spent – you guessed it – editing.

Over the past two weeks, I’ve managed to edit 32,000 words of Tangled and cross the halfway mark. That’s very exciting (I did a little happy dance in my pyjamas when I crossed the threshold), but I still have another 21,000 words to edit by 24 October in order to have part 2 of Tangled ready for my beta readers by the due date in my project schedule. Ideally, I’d like to proof read part 2 once more before I send it to my readers. But given that I’m heading back to full time work tomorrow, that’s a pretty big ask.

And to make things a little more challenging, my husband and I are starting a competition tomorrow (just between each other) to see who can get into the best shape in ten weeks. Winning this competition will unfortunately require exercise – something I haven’t made much time for since I started this blog in January. To be brutally honest, for the past ten months blogging has replaced jogging and my butt is starting to look like the chair it’s been parked in. I need this competition to get me out of that chair!

So what does all of this mean? It means that somehow, I need to find a better balance between novel editing, exercising, blogging, working, and having a life.  To achieve this, I need (among other things) to scale back on my blogging a little. I can hear your gasps of anguish and despair already, but don’t worry, I’ll still post twice a week – just not three times or more like I have been recently.

My new blogging schedule

Sunday night (AEST) will be:

  • a progress update, discussion about writing technique, industry spotlight or book review (in other words, whatever has taken my fancy about writing or reading that week).

Thursday night (AEST) will alternate between:

Wish me luck!

Your turn

Have you made any changes to achieve balance in your life recently? Or do you have any fun stories about failing to achieve balance? Please share. 🙂

20 Comments

Filed under balance, Progress update, Tangled, Writing

20 responses to “Finding balance

  1. Great pictures! I love the one of the Gap. I think your new blogging schedule sounds reasonable. I only post once a week. Good luck with your fitness competition!

    • Thanks, Kristen. I think tapering back on blogging will definitely help. And the competition will too. I’m competitive by nature – turn anything into a competition and I’ll be much more involved! 🙂

  2. Janece

    All of life is about balance, isn’t it? It wasn’t until my kids were grown at out of the house that I even considered the possibility of writing a book. I still find it challenging. I have so many interests (including my adorable grandson), and trying to fit everything into my ‘spare’ hours before or after work is definitely not easy. But I think of all those who have gone before me – with MUCH greater adveristy to face – and I’m inspired.

    Best of luck on your editing!

    • It’s hard to balance writing with all of the other awesome things out there to do and see, isn’t it?

      You’re right though – many before us have faced far greater challenges than we have, and if we really want to achieve our writing goals, then we need to knuckle down and write! 🙂

  3. Your trip sounds wonderful – so glad you had a good time! And you are making a good choice – sometimes certain things have to give, so cutting a bit back on blogging, twitter, etc is the way to go. Been doing the same – used to post much more but need the time to write! good luck and have fun!

    • Thanks so much, Jennifer!

      Writing is the reason we blog, so it makes sense we should invest more time in that. And Twitter, yes that is definitely a bad habit of mine too. As they say, everything in moderation… 🙂

  4. That sounds like a great competition. I’ll be trying to do the same over here (just not in any competition with anyone). It just sounds like a healthy way to live.

    • I find I’m much more motivated if I’m competing – with something like this at least. I’m a little too competitive for my own good. My husband and I don’t play Monopoly any more for that reason.

      You’re right though, above all else, having balance, eating well and doing some exercise is a healthy way to live. Although my feet might disagree right now – I went for a run this morning and now they’re covered in blisters!

  5. I’ve been making a few changes recently–I was inconsistent with writing/blogging before, so I’m trying to set some kind of schedule. I think i need it, what with NaBloWriMo this month and NaNoWriMo coming up.

    Great pictures!

  6. As long as you’re not deserting us entirely, we shall soldier on 🙂 Good luck with your edits and your fitness competition – I hope you win! I too spend time I should be jogging blogging – if only blogging was aerobic exercise… of course, then I probably wouldn’t like it as much… it’s hard to exercise and eat chocolate donuts at the same time, but I’m a master of donut blogging 🙂

  7. Glad you enjoyed your holiday Cally – hope it’s not too hard going back to work today. I’m off on holidays at the end of this week… is it really Monday already?

  8. I love your pictures. I’m about to try and lose some weight, so I hear you on that one 🙂

  9. Love the pics! How lovely to get away for two weeks. Did the flu happen during those two weeks?

    Anyway, your fitness challenge sounds like a great plan. Maybe my hubby and I should try it since we are so competitive with each other.

    I’m looking for balance too. I started running again today, and I’ve scheduled Nano re-posts for the rest of the month to clear up my blogging time. Why? I need to finish my POV switch because I have two full requests!

    Good luck with your challenge and finding balance.

    • Thanks, Charity! It was lovely to get away, and thankfully the man-flu only happened just as we got back home. Phew!

      My husband and I are also very competitive, which is why we decided to make getting into shape a competition – makes it much more fun. We’re having weekly weigh-ins and everything!

      Balance is so hard to find, especially when you have big goals like most of us writers do. I’m terrible at setting way too many goals/expecations for myself then wonder why I can’t achieve them all.

      Best of luck with your submissions. I so hope they’re fruitful for you! 🙂

  10. Jen

    Those are beautiful photos. I really should try and get down to Sydney more often…

    I’ve left an award for you over at my blog!

    • Thanks, Jen. Sydney is a beautiful place. Would you believe this is the first time I’ve been there in living memory? (meaning I’ve been as a kid but not as an adult.)

      Thanks so much for the award. Swinging by your place to collect it now. 😀

  11. A while ago I had a blogging schedule of four times a week. That was quite tough. Now, in order to keep more of a balance, I have Teaser Tuesday and… nothing else planned! My only other blog posts are when I feel like I have something to say. I’m kind of missing the structure… but I’m getting more non-blogging-related stuff done now 🙂

  12. Four posts a week would be difficult to maintain, especially if you’re
    working and trying to find time to write as well! I think it’s a good idea
    to leave it open somewhat and blog when you have something to say. No point filling your blog with posts that weren’t inspired! 🙂

What do you think?

