I wish I wrote that (Harvesting the Heart)

Today’s quotes comes from Harvesting the Heart by Jodi Piccoult.

If you have no idea what this segement is about, read this post.)

Quotes

Harvesting the Heart quotes

I wish I wrote these qutoes...

“I spent the main course being choked by fear of the unknown, which lurked in the corners of the dining room with the stale breath and slitted eyes of a wolf.”

“Nicholas’s stare turned dark and shuttered.”

“He came to stand in front of me and placed his hand, cold, on my shoulder.”

“He could feel Paige’s shoulder relax beneath his hands. Suddenly she started talking, the words tumbling out of her mouth.”

“My throat seemed to swell up with a pain more raw than childbirth.”

Why do I like them?

While I might have a few gripes about Jodi’s writing style (which is often OTT), she definitely knows how to capture her characters’ emotions on the page.

With the first quote, I know that feeling of hovering fear all too well and likening it to a wolf seems quite apt to me.

The rest of the quotes convey the scenes’ emotions without needing to state them. I believe they describe (in order): distrust, intimidation, relief and grief. Do you agree?

Your turn

What do you think of these snippets? Like them? Hate them? Indifferent?

21 Comments

Filed under Author admiration, Writing

21 responses to “I wish I wrote that (Harvesting the Heart)

  1. I am biased. I love everything Jodi Piccoult. So I definitely wish I wrote these πŸ™‚

    • Hehehe. I have mixed feelings about her. Her books always draw me in, but I find the narration over the top and repetitive at times. I do love these (and many other) quotes though. πŸ™‚

  2. You can really feel the scene. She does a great job of that.

  3. I think that I sometimes like her style and other times could do without, but these passages are really great. Thanks for sharing.

  4. I have mixed feelings about the segment. The fear/wolf metaphor is great as is the swelling as in childbirth, but overall I’m not a fan of her writing style. As we know, style preference is so subjective and obviously there are a lot of readers in love with her prose. Hats off to her for capturing a reading audience.

    • Most definitely. I do know what you mean. I haven’t read one of her books for a while because I find them quite heavy going and often quite repetitive. But one thing she does do very well is capture the emotions of a scene on the page. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. πŸ™‚

  5. I love ’em! Thanks for sharing. Very striking images, and creative. πŸ™‚

  6. My favourite line: β€œNicholas’s stare turned dark and shuttered.”
    Ooh…. can just feel it!

  7. Can you believe I have never read a Jodi? I know, I know! I love these quotes. You’ve definitely enticed me!

    • That’s actually quite an achievement, Talli – to have gone against the trend!

      This one – Harvesting the Heart – is the one I enjoyed the most. Let me know what you think if you read it. πŸ™‚

  8. Vicki Tremper

    I haven’t read any Jodi Picoult either. It strikes me that out of context these seem OTT (to borrow your expression). Not having read them in context, I can’t say whether they work or not. But isn’t it great to be able to have this discussion?

    • Yep, it’s definitely great to be able to have this discussion! That’s really interesting you find these quotes OTT out of context. I would describe them as powerful. If you think these are OTT, I definitely wouldn’t recommend Picoult’s books to you. I’d be interested to know your thoughts if you do read one though! πŸ™‚

  9. I’ve heard of her, of course, but I’ve never read any of her stuff. Interesting post and discussion.

  10. I’ve never read anything by Jodi Picoult, either. The sentences you posted do seem a bit OTT to me, but perhaps if I knew what else was happening they’d feel more natural.

  11. Ian Wynne

    Like some of the descriptors, but can’t cope with the head hopping from what is presumably Paige’s viewpoint to Nicholas’s viewpoint. I’m assuming she writes like this all the time and it would drive me nuts.

What do you think?

