WiP Part 1 editing deadline: done and dusted!

***For my readers in the path of Hurricane Irene, I’m thinking of you. Batten down, be safe and I look forward to hearing that you’re doing well.***

As my headline suggests, I have beaten my ambitious deadline of editing Part 1 of Tangled by more than a week. Not only that, I actually extended Part 1 by 12K, so I’ve edited a LOT more than I thought I’d be able to.  This weekend alone, I edited 26K, which probably explains the square eyes and dazed brain…

This was my work station today.

Work station

My work station

Yes, those are tweezers. It was breezy on the deck and I couldn’t find another bulldog clip.

In summary, I’ve reduced 62K down to 46K – that’s a whopping 24%. And thus, the size of Tangled Part 1 (which I will soon be providing to beta readers) will be 46K (or thereabouts).

While I’m on the beta-reading topic, I’ve made some progress since I put out a request last week. I had a great deal of interest (thanks everyone!), so I’ve decided to do two rounds of beta reading. The first group will receive the manuscript in three parts, and the second will receive the whole thing in one hit – in about December, if my beta-reading project schedule is accurate.

Beta-reading project schedule

My beta-reading project schedule (click for full size)

If you’re one of those gorgeous, amazing, delightful people who volunteered to beta read Tangled, I’ll be emailing you shortly to see which group you’d like to be in. I’ve also decided that since I’ll be receiving quite a bit of feedback, I’m going to develop a survey for my beta readers (like this guy did). This will help guide my readers on what I’m looking for and ensure I get feedback in a consistent format. Beta readers will still be able to provide feedback beyond the survey scope, but hopefully the survey will capture the majority of comments.

So, this is all pretty exciting for me! As you know, I’m new to this beta reading caper, so I’m open to any thoughts or suggestions about how best to manage this stage. Check out my beta reading project schedule (which is subject to change) and let me know if you think it’s realistic. Let me know what you think about a beta reader survey. Tell me I should go to bed because I’m not making any sense…

Oh, one more thing before I go. Does anyone know of freeware that has similar functionality to MS Project? That would be heaps better than doing my project schedule in Excel.

Hooray! Too much coffee! 😀

30 Comments

Filed under Beta readers, Editing, Progress update, Revising, Tangled, Writing, YA fiction

30 responses to “WiP Part 1 editing deadline: done and dusted!

  1. I think your plan sounds great and you are operating very well for someone who has not slept and had too much coffee. I like the idea of the survey – that guy’s is a good one… in fact, I might use it myself on my own mss and see if it helps me fix them 🙂 I’m rooting for you for that blue square at the end!! 🙂 DOn’t forget movie rights 🙂

  2. Goodness, what a lot of work that sounds!

    Hope it all goes well.

    sarah

  3. Andrea S. Michaels

    Wow, it’s impressive how organised you are! With all these preparations, I’m sure you’ll achieve your goals!
    – andrea

  4. Jen

    I am so jealous of organised people! Congratulations on all your hard work.
    P.S. Whoever did your verandah rails also did mine! Same colour paint and everything. For a second I thought someone had broken into my house and set up a studio on my front verandah. Which, given the amount of work you’re getting done, would be totally okay!

    • Hehehe, thanks Jen. Don’t worry, I’m not always this organised. And that’s funny about the verandah. The people two houses up seem to have the same design too. Lucky it’s a nice one. 🙂

  5. Wow, that’s an impressive amount of work!

    May I wish you lots of luck in finding Agent Awesome ^_^

  6. Well done for beating your target – and thanks for the link!

  7. The Golden Eagle

    Congratulations on your editing! 😀

    I don’t know much about free programs other than Project, but I did find this article:
    http://www.ilovefreesoftware.com/15/featured/5-free-project-management-software-free-alternatives-to-microsoft-project.html

  8. Wow, congrats on all the hard work and holy crap are you organized!!! Whoa, I’m amazed:)

  9. I love your ideas, especially the survey one. I think it helps as a reader to know beforehand what the writer is looking for as far as help goes. (I’m totally going to steal the survey.)

  10. Vicki Tremper

    Congrats on beating a deadline! My experience with CPs and beta readers has been awesome. I would suggest to limit how many people have it at any one time so that you’re not overwhelmed with conflicting feedback. I only use 3 people at a time, in any stage. Hope that helps!

    • Thanks, Vicki!

      My beta reader groups are going to be quite large (about 6 people per group). I may have a different opinion later, but I think it will be useful to have a larger group as it will allow me to see which points of feedback are shared and which are solely from one person. Fingers crossed they don’t ALL have differing opinions! 🙂

  11. Go to bed – you’re not making any sense.
    KIDDING! You are so super organised, it’s fantastic. And the tweaser is a wonderful touch. It’s my favourtie bit about this post actually 😉 Hehehe….

  12. Great idea! I never would have thought to develop a beta reader survey. I’m nowhere near that organized. Heck, I can’t even see my desk for the Diet Coke cans and stacks of paper. Congrats on surpassing your deadline. You go girl!

    • Thanks, Lindy! I can’t claim too much credit for the survey idea, since I read about it on other people’s blogs. And the project schedule is just a hangover from managing events etc at work. But I do feel better now that I have a plan. Now I just have to implement it! 🙂

  13. Congratulations on your deadline! Hope your reading stage goes well and you get lots of good advice!

  14. I’m so excited to be a beta reader! Can’t wait to start reading!

What do you think?

