I wish I wrote that (Ursula)

Today’s quotes comes from Ursula: A Voyage of Love and Drama by Eileen Naseby.

(If you have no idea what this segement is about, read this post.)

Quotes

Ursula

I wish I wrote these qutoes...

“And so it goes, backwards and forwards. Little drops of poison seeping into the heat of the day until the air is humid with hurt and blame.”

“He looks down at me and steps back. He brushes down the place where my hand was pressed, as if my fingers contained something sticky.”

“Ursula has never heard of Sandhurst but she can tell the name means a lot to Tony from the way he gives his neck a little twist upwards, as if to make himself taller when he says the word.Β “

Why do I like them?

The first does a wonderful job of describing those acidic arguments between family members, where every hurt is brought back up through thinly veiled comments. And isn’t the wording beautiful?

The second makes me sad, for the enthusiastic child that this man is brushing off. Without saying so, this quote makes it clear that the man is not fond of children. It also makes me question whether I like him.

The third I love because I can see this action perfectly in my mind. It captures pride so well, yet I never would have thought to portray the emotion like this myself.

Your turn

What do you think of these snippets? Like them? Hate them? Indifferent?

22 Comments

Filed under Author admiration, Writing

22 responses to “I wish I wrote that (Ursula)

  1. I like all of them. And agree that they demonstrate the emotion they mean to convey. I particularly like the third quote. The simple gesture of standing up to look taller says so much.

  2. These are wonderful! I wish I wrote that πŸ™‚

  3. Hello, fellow campaigner! I’m not in your group, but I still wanted to take a look at your blog. Awesome place you have here!

    Interesting quotes. I wish I wrote those, too. πŸ˜‰

  4. Andrea S. Michaels

    I loved the second and the third very much! The first one is too complicated for me, and instead of giving me a clear picture, it has confused me. πŸ™‚

    • Andrea, the first is definitely more complicated than the others. I love the images it creates, but it’s probably easier to understand in context. Thanks for dropping by my little slice of cyberspace. πŸ™‚

  5. Hello Cally. Glad to be in your Campaigner group!

  6. This is such a neat idea, Cally. And I wish I wrote these quotes too, how lovely!

  7. What was interesting to me is that the quotes gave me the sense of a quote young girl – a child really, rather than a teen. Is that the age of the character?

  8. Very neat idea! I love the second one here. There’s something so beautiful about it.

  9. They’re all fantastic, of course. The first one is just poetic. The second, evocative. And the third is just a brilliant show and not tell of the character’s feelings toward someone.

  10. Greetings from a fellow Campaigner. Those snippets are wonderful, and your assessment of why you responded to them so positively is terrific information for any writer to receive. I also love your blog banner. It made me think of where my eyes travel when someone is being interviewed on a news magazine TV show. I always go right to the bookshelf to see what that person has read/will read.

  11. Eileen Naseby

    Hello Cally. I just came across this review. It gave me such a thrill. Besides having the best taste in writing, your blog is fantastic. I mean that truly.

    Thanks so much for the support.

    Eileen

    • Thanks so much, Eileen. I’m delighted that you enjoyed the post and like my blog. Drop by any time. And thanks for sharing your mother’s story with the world – it was a very interesting, powerful read.

What do you think?

