I wish I wrote that (The Bride Stripped Bare)

Today’s quotes comes from The Bride Stripped by Bare by Nikki Gemmell

(If you have no idea what this segement is about, read this post.)

The Bride Stripped Bare cover

I wish I wrote that (or these quotes at least)

Quotes

“You think of the two types of aloneness you’ve experienced recently: this wonderful, sparkly, soul-refreshing type, and the despairing loneliness that sucks the breath from your life.”

“He’s wended his way into every corner of your life, he’s a plasterer’s fine residue, dust under a bed, a white film on a shower screen that keeps coming back and back no matter how furiously you wipe.”

Why do I like them?

They capture emotions I can completely relate to. Those two types of aloneness, don’t you know them yourself? Haven’t you felt them both at different times? And that feeling of being hurt by a partner, never being able to wipe them completely from your mind. I’ve been there (long, long ago, thank goodness). Like last week, I wasn’t fussed on the themes of this book (I rated it 3 out of 5 overall), but I found the writing style quite arresting. It’s rare to read something in 2nd person, so that added to the reading experience too.

Your turn

What do you think of these snippets? Like them? Hate them? Indifferent?

3 Comments

Filed under Author admiration, Writing

3 responses to “I wish I wrote that (The Bride Stripped Bare)

  1. Robyn Martin

    Definitely like and wishing there were more books written in third person omniscient.

  2. “a white film on a shower screen that keeps coming back and back no matter how furiously you wipe”

    That is brilliant! I can totally understand that analogy.

What do you think?

