Amy Lunderman in the HOT SEAT

It’s always embarrassing to see a grown woman cry. Amy Lunderman tries to pull herself together, but she’s just too scared. Oh well, no sympathy here. She got herself into this situation. Welcome to the HOT SEAT, Amy!

Amy Lunderman

Gday, Amy!

Let’s get started. What genre(s) do you write?

I’m a big fan of paranormal romance fiction, so it’s wonderful there is a broad spectrum there!

[CJ: Ooh, I love that genre too. Have written any yet, but I plan to!]

Tell us about your current WiP… in a limerick!

Okay, this limerick is from the Staying Alive Series – Persona & Unbroken. This is a WiP series, the first two books are completed.

[CJ: Cool!]

Moira just wants to be normal
not the girl who is hiding from her past.
But soon realizes she’s better abnormal
and with help she must get away fast.

From the man that started it all
comes the son of the one he created.
Together they plunder and try to not fall
and their connection leaves her elated.

[CJ: Ooh a double limerick. You get bonus points for that!]

Most of us write part time. How do you spend your time when you’re not writing?

As a stay-at-home mom of a two-year-old little girl, my free time is very limited. She is a free spirit, for sure. But thankfully (for mommy’s sanity), she loves her naps. Most days I crash on the couch and try not to make any noise, that is until the dryer or dishwasher goes off…. 

Tell us a little about your writing process.

This is where I get a little OCD! I usually start out with an idea, and then I work it into a chapter outline. Once I have this, I start writing the first draft and try to incorporate at least two chapters a day or more. Sometimes, I might manage to finish the rough draft in a little over two weeks. I then set the draft aside, and restart the process on another WiP until that is ready to be set aside. With fresh eyes, I go back to the draft of the first story and the revisions begin! I try to work on two books in a month, but am trying to edit and revise as much as I can; no matter how long it takes to finish.

[CJ: Wow. A first draft in TWO WEEKS? Yeah, that’s the same as me *cough cough*. Did I mention I started my current WiP in 2001?]

Who or what are your biggest writing inspirations?

My family are the ones that inspire me the most. They believe that I can do whatever I put my mind to, and it’s very comforting to know they have such faith in me. Of course, I think they hope I strike it big, and they get a cut! But I love them all the same!

[CJ: Haha, yeah, my husband keeps asking when I’m going to become the next Stephenie Meyer!]

What have been the biggest challenges you’ve faced as a writer?

The biggest challenge is just being brave enough to actually self-publish. Writing is one thing, but letting other people read your work? It is very scary!

Time for the HOT SEAT questions!

Hot Seat

*Insert scary music here*

Oh! Wait! I don’t have my ice packs handy yet! Ah, there it is – proceed. 🙂

If you were given a glimpse of the future and knew you would never publish any of your writing, would you continue to write?

Oh you’re good with the questions! [CJ: Why thank you!] If I knew I’d never publish, I think I would still want to write. Writing is more fun than anything, and a great way to quiet all the busy voices in my head. 

[CJ: Just more evidence that all writers are schizophrenics. ;)]

Finish the following sentence from your main character’s perspective.

One of the most embarrassing things that has ever happened to me was… when I found out my date only went out with me as a trick – something his girlfriend planned.

[CJ: Yep, that would suck!]

Now finish the same sentence from your perspective.

One of the most embarrassing things that has ever happened to me was… when I was walking into my high school one rainy morning. (This is almost too embarrassing to admit.) I saw a boy I liked, and was trying to act all slick; turns out the floor was slicker than me. I fell down in front of everyone, including my crush! My face was redder than my hair. I never tried to talk to him after that.

[CJ: I’m so sorry, I know that would’ve been terrible, but reading that made me laugh out loud!]

Thank you for having me, Cally! I’d stick around to chat more, but I have to head for the ER for my toasty butt! Where is a donut pillow when I need one! 😉

Tee-hee-hee-hee. Go soothe that butt!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you’d like to hear more from Amy, check out her blog or follow her on Twitter.

If you’d like a turn in the HOT SEAT, let me know in the comments and I’ll schedule you in for a buttocks burning. 😀

11 Comments

Filed under Hot Seat, Writers, Writing

11 responses to “Amy Lunderman in the HOT SEAT

  1. Great interview as always, Cally! Amy sounds like a very fun person – ER indeed 🙂 Amy, I am so impressed that you can work on 2 books a month and crank out 2 chapters a day when you have a 2 year old!!! I would be VERY interested in hearing more about your method if you care to expand! Good luck with the books 🙂

    • Thanks, Susanna. I know what you mean. I can barely believe Amy’s process – I went green with envy when I first read it!

      Can’t wait to read some of your work, Amy! 🙂

      • I’m guessing it has to do with a self-disciplined work ethic which I apparently don’t have (she said, back on Cally’s blog 1/2 and hour after the first time when she should be working on her book :))

        • That’s okay. That’s how our writers work, remember? Or do I need to refer you to your recent post? 😉

          • I remember that post! I would be taking the dogs for a walk if it wasn’t POURING for the 3rd day in a row. Sheesh! Guess I’ll warm up my coffee… and check my email again… and hope I come up with a good ending for the picture book I’m supposed to be finished with 🙂

      • Amy

        Thank you for having me today Cally! Your awesome and I’m still having whiplash from the burns! 🙂

    • Amy

      Thank you Susanna! Honestly it’s a lot of work that I owe to my beautiful daughter. She has more patience that I do and am very blessed! I’d love to share my secrets! 😉

  2. What a fun interview! Amy, you’re amazing to be able to write that much with a two year old. I’m lucky if my 16 month old gives me an hour a day to myself to do anything.

  3. I loved this. I am in awe of Amy’s output – and self-discipline 🙂

  4. Another great Hot Seat interview. Congrats to Amy for stepping up to the chair. 🙂

  5. I’m still in awe of how fast you write. And who hasn’t fallen in front of someone they liked?

What do you think?

