I wish I wrote that (Monica Bloom)

Are you excited? You should be, because this is the start of an awesome new weekly segment on this blog, called I wish I wrote that.

Each week,  I’ll provide a short snippet of writing that I admire, and then explain why I like it so much. Reasons will be varied, but will often be because of how eloquently the snippet describes a particular emotion or human experience.

Monica Bloom

I wish I wrote that

So, let’s get to it! Considering I’ve just got home from the book launch of Nick Earls’ latest book The Fix, it seems only fitting that I should kick this segment off with a quote from one of Nick Earls’ books. Today’s quote is from Monica Bloom by, you guessed it, Nick Earls!

“Her hair was different, I noticed. It used to be very carefully shaped, and now it wasn’t. It was naturally wavy, and now she was allowing it to be that way.” 

Why do I like this?

I like this quote because it shows Matt (the teenage protagonist) noticing his mother changing. Without explicitly saying so, it shows us that his mother is becoming more confident and relaxed, and that he’s noticing these changes in her.

What do you think?

Do you like this snippet? Do you know of any other quotes that reflect this kind of observation just as well or better?

And more broadly, what do you think of this segment idea? Good or bad? Let me know!

21 Comments

Filed under Author admiration, Nick Earls, Writing

21 responses to “I wish I wrote that (Monica Bloom)

  1. Fantastic idea! It will also showcase some books that us readers don’t necessarily know about. I do like the little paragraph you chose today. It’s great in its simplicity.

  2. Love the idea, especially as I am currently reading Divergent (which I cannot put down!) and thinking I wish I wrote that!!!

  3. Nice segment. You know how I love quotable quotes!

  4. JessB

    Great idea, I love it!

  5. Damn, I meant to get to that Earls book launch! Love the idea of this segment and often get that “wish I wrote that” feeling. Can’t remember the exact quote but I remember reading The Prince of Tides many years ago and swear the words were so evocative I could actually smell the mud of the mangroves.

    • I did look out for you at the launch. I was going to text you to see if you were planning on going, but I discovered that I don’t seem to have your mobile number. Which is weird, because I was sure I did. Could you email it to me please?

      Glad you like the idea of the segment, and the quote you’re talking about sounds like a great one. You’ll have to dig it up for me!

  6. What a neat idea! I often find great bits of writing and wish I could write so well. And I always love to find new books to read. The snippet you chose is interesting, because it shows something of the speaker’s character as well as the person being spoken about.

    • Hooray! Glad you like the segment idea. I love finding new books to read too, and I agree with your thoughts on this snippet. I think the best writing always shows something about the narrator as well as whatever they’re describing. 🙂

  7. This is so neat! I love it. I think that alot when i’m reading a good book, like “gee I wish I’d written this!” i’ll be sure to follow this series! I do like the quote… haven’t read the book yet :/ (never ending to read list person here)

  8. Pingback: I wish I wrote that (The Time-Traveller’s Wife) | Cally Jackson Writes

  9. Pingback: I wish I wrote that (The Song is You) | Cally Jackson Writes

  10. Pingback: I wish I wrote that (The Bride Stripped Bare) | Cally Jackson Writes

  11. Pingback: I wish I wrote that (Ursula) | Cally Jackson Writes

  12. Pingback: I wish I wrote that (Twelve Sharp) | Cally Jackson Writes

  13. Pingback: I wish I wrote that (Harvesting the Heart) | Cally Jackson Writes

  14. Pingback: I wish I wrote that (Before I Fall) | Cally Jackson Writes

What do you think?

