Regina Linton in the HOT SEAT

Mum of five, Regina Linton, is this week’s victim. Ironically, the name of her blog is Regina Unsettled. Why is that ironic? Because, as she approaches the HOT SEAT, Regina is looking pretty unsettled to me! 😀 (Sorry, bad joke.)

Regina

Gday, Regina!

Ahem. Let’s get started. What genre(s) do you write, Regina?

I am very indecisive and write several different genres. I write both Adult and YA.

[CJ: Interesting. Do you find it difficult to swap between age groups and keep the voice right?]

I don’t think it’s an issue because my adult characters are more mature (but not by much). So I am used to writing them. While I live with four teenagers who all give me inspiration for getting the voice just right for anything I write that is YA. I guess you could say it is like a home study and I am doing my research.

[CJ: How very handy!]

.Tell us about your current WiP, If I’m Wrong… in a limerick!

Keri manifests her dead boyfriend when she self-inflicts pain
Eventually she must choose between him and her new flame
Need I say anymore?

Yes, I stink at limericks. LOL

[CJ: Hehehe, at least it ryhmes! And If I’m Wrong definitely sounds intriguing!]

Most of us write part time. How do you spend your time when you’re not writing?

When I am not writing, I work as a secretary for Child Services and then try to balance that with family. I have five wonderful children. 17, 16, 16, 14 & 8 and my wonderful husband who I have deemed a Murphy! (anything that can will go wrong if he is around, God love him!) 

[CJ: Five children – that’s so impressive. Especially with a Murphy. Tee-hee-hee! ;-)]

Tell us a little about your writing process.

My process is very unpredictable. I can’t just sit down and write and punch it out or plot things out on note cards or story boards. I am anything but organized. I am sporadic. I am a total panster. I jump around constantly. Start and stop. Start something else, come back to another project. Drop one, pick one up again. I can work on three different stories in one day. Unconventional I guess you could call me. A little or a lot ADD.

I don’t really get lost though. I usually always know where I am in my stories. That is surprising and makes me proud too. 🙂 Everything comes at me at once. I’m like a satellite feed and then a volcano of sporadic/random thoughts that somehow become visions. I am just all over the place…see I’m rambling already.

[CJ: Wow. That’s one heck of a process! I’m impressed that you can work on multiple stories at a time and keep up with them all!  :-)]

Who or what are your biggest writing inspirations?

My biggest inspirations are my family. When my husband was injured almost four years ago in a construction accident, I turned to writing for sanity. It kept me afloat when I felt like I was drowning. Everyone is very supportive of my writing — jealous some days but otherwise supportive.

[CJ: Sorry to hear about your husband’s accident. But it’s good you had writing to help you get through it. Hope he’s doing okay now.]

What have been the biggest challenges you’ve faced as a writer?

Yeah, like that’s not obvious? Oh, you mean besides the organizing all the ramblings that filter out of my noggin? [CJ: Yep.] Why didn’t you just say so? Geez! [CJ: Err, I just did… ;-)]

That would be having the time to put it all on paper or the computer. It is either in one place or the other. Nothing is all together. I have a journal for each project because things come out so fast but – RANDOM – that I just grab whatever story the next idea flows for and jot it down in there. Basically I don’t shut off unless sedated. Did I just say that? Oops!

Well, you’re not going to get any sedatives for a while, Regina. Because it’s time for the HOT SEAT questions!

Hot Seat

*Insert scary music here*

Deep breath. Okay. Ready. NO! WAIT! HOLD IT! (Flame retardant jammies and SPF 85 in toe) Alright now let’s begin!

[CJ: Like that’ll help! :-D]

Have you ever considered stopping writing? Why? What made you continue?

I would never imagine. That would be like trying to take my own life. I would probably implode/explode or something. It is my outlet. I can’t share all of it with everyone, but I have to release it into the wild. 

[CJ: Yep, I agree. If nothing else, I’d have to at least be able to keep a journal, otherwise I’d go crazy. Anyway, enough about me. Moving on!]

A well-reputed publisher offers you a major contract but requires you change something about your plot that completely goes against what you want for the book. What do you do?

Wow, it’s getting hot in here. Does anyone else feel that? I mean really? TAP! TAP! TAP! Is this thing on? Oh sorry, I was caught up in the wonderful euphoric dream I was having. You know, like when you win an award and you want to thank the academy and that fun stuff! Yeah, I know. Reality check. I am open to suggestion and everything that I can do to make my book writing better. If what they are suggesting however, does not add anything to my story or alters so much that is is no longer MY story and we cannot agree then I would have to respectfully decline. It probably sounds easier than done.

[CJ: Yep, probably!]

If your current WiP was going to be made into a movie, who would play your lead character(s) and why?

Oh this is my favorite part of working on a WIP. Visuals. [CJ: That’s it. I’m never asking this question again. Too many people have enjoyed it!]

I do find dreamy peeps to play my parts. Really I do, I do. Okay I am going to tell you that my lead character Keri is Played by Emily Browning, the dead ex-boyfriend Carter is played by Jason Dolley and our stunning new love interest, Fallon is played by Josh Hutcherson.

Emily Browning

Emily

Jason Dolley

Jason

Josh Hutcherson

Josh

.
.
.
.
.

I almost considered changing Josh because he is now one of the leads in the new movie The Hunger Games, but I stand by my choice because I had him picked before they announced their casting so that just reinforced my choice knowing that he was definitely a hottie to watch for. LOL

[CJ: I’m so out of touch. I don’t know any of those actors!]

Thank you so much for roasting I mean hosting me today. [CJ: Hehehehe, you’re very welcome, Regina.]

I had a really great time hanging out with you! I suggest everyone come and try the HOT SEAT, IF YOU CAN HANDLE IT! Muuahhahhahhh! 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you’d like to hear more from Regina, check out her blog or follow her on Twitter.

If you’d like a turn in the HOT SEAT, let me know in the comments and I’ll schedule you in for a buttocks burning. 😀

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Blogging schedule update

From now on, the HOT SEAT will run fortnightly on Tuesdays. Every Sunday, I’ll blog about writing-related topics (e.g. progress on Tangled, something interesting/thought provoking I’ve heard or read about the industry etc), and every Thursday, I’ll blog a new weekly themed post called, ‘I wish I wrote that’. Have I piqued your interest…? 😀

11 Comments

Filed under Hot Seat, Writers, Writing

11 responses to “Regina Linton in the HOT SEAT

  1. Okay, Regina definitely sounds like a person who I would like to hang out with 🙂

  2. Great interview as always, Cally 🙂 Regina, you sound very high energy! You’d have to be to keep up with all you do! The way you describe your writing process makes me think a bit of own, but in my case I wish I could organize it more – I think if I was a little less scattered I’d get a little more done 🙂

  3. I’m so impressed you can do so much with five kids in tow! Fantastic interview.!

  4. @ Sarah Peterson – Come hang out at anytime. 🙂
    @ Susanna – I don’t know about high energy, but I know I am exhausted and scattered.
    @Carolina – I just cope girl, I exist.

    Cally, my ice bath is working nicely to sooth the sting!

  5. I could never keep up with a writing process like that! I’d end up combining plots and characters all over the place. LOL.

    I love Emily Browning.:)

    Great interview!

  6. Awesome answers, Regina! Always fun to learn more about you… and we all bow in your honor for raising 5 kids! I’m pulling my hair out with 2. :s

  7. @ The Golden Eagle – I don’t really think I possess a lot of sanity, but it is how I function. If I am not in Chaos then I am truly lost. Yes, I just think that she is adorable. A natural beauty.

    @ PK Hrezo – I think all writers have a lot on our plates and we make the most of it with writing, family and anything else we pile into our lives. I didn’t have to pull my hair out, it falls out on it’s own, so I just recently got it cut off, short for me. I guess less I could pull. You always make my day and your 2 are beautiful.

  8. The premise of Regina’s novel sounds intriguing–like something I’d read!

  9. Nas

    5 kids, Regina? Wow, and you have time for anything else, let alone writing? Kudos to you.

    Lovely reading about you.

  10. I enjoyed learning more about Regina and her writing. And 5 kids…It’s amazing that she fits in writing. Kudos to her. 🙂

What do you think?

