Adriana Kraft in the HOT SEAT

As Adriana Kraft approaches the HOT SEAT, fire reflects in her eyes. She stares at the smouldering chair then sits down, smiling as the flames lick her sides. Yes folks, that’s right. Adriana Kraft likes it HOT. (If you’re under 18, look away now… )

Adriana Logo

Woot woot!

Let’s get started, Adriana. What genre do you write?

Erotic Romance for two, three or more. Gender pairings include m/f, f/f, m/m, m/f/f, and other ménage combinations.  The settings are mostly contemporary settings, sometimes with paranormal elements (goddesses, time travel, out of body experiences). Length ranges from short stories in anthologies to novellas and full length romances.

Tell us about your most recently completed work in 25 words or less.

Jen and Brett Andrews know their exclusive relationship with recently widowed Sarah Creston can’t last. If they share her with another swinging couple, what’s next?

[CJ: A dilemma indeed!]

Tell us a little about your writing process.

[CJ: Wait for it, here comes the reveal!]

All my books are co-authored – my husband and I write together under the pen name Adriana Kraft. When we start a new story we always begin by getting to know the characters – where they’ve come from, what they care about, what scares them, what drives them. Our plot lines emerge as we decide what challenges they will face and explore how they’ll react.

Once we have the broad arc of the story, we start writing. Only one of us writes at a time. We always read each day’s output out loud together, then discuss details of the next steps before proceeding. Once the entire book is on the page (as in Swinging Games Book Nine), we edit tirelessly, so much that we lose count of how many times we’ve gone through it.

[CJ: Sounds like an awesome process and heaps of fun too. It’s fantastic that you get to share the writing process with someone you love.]

Most of us write part time. How do you spend your time when you’re not writing?

You’re right, both of us have other paid work. My husband, with his background in the social sciences, does some part time consulting, and I work as a counselor. And our free time? We love to travel, when time permits, and we love the out of doors: long walks and hikes in the summer, cross country skiing in winter.

[CJ: Snow skiing is wonderful. I’d love it even more if it hadn’t resulted in a knee construction last year!]

Who or what are your biggest writing inspirations?

I go all the way back to Jane Austen, who I’ve just been re-reading. Contemporary writing styles are obviously vastly different, but I especially admire how exquisitely she crafts her black moments, and the choices her heroines must make to seize their future. That’s a quality we work hard to achieve in our stories.

Hubs says he grew up on Zane Grey and Willa Cather – guess he’s a romantic, at heart! As an adult he’s devoured countless contemporary romance authors, so it’s no surprise that’s what he like to write.

[CJ: I have a confession to make. I’ve never read anything by Jane Austen. Don’t hate me!]

What have been the biggest challenges you’ve faced as a writer?

Shifting from dry academic writing styles to storytelling and realistic dialogue, for starters. Both of us were published in non-fiction before we decided to pursue our dream to write fiction, so for the most part the grammar and basic structure issues aren’t a problem. Finding and honing our voice – a joint product – also took effort. We started drafting our first novel in 2000 and made our first sale in 2005, so you can tell we had to work at it.

And now for the HOT SEAT questions!

Hot Seat

*Insert scary music here*

Finish this sentence from your main character’s perspective:

Something most people don’t know about me is…

SAPPHIC COVERFor this question, I’m going to go with Janet Baxter, from our just released Torquere title, The Lady Wants More.

“Something most people don’t know about me is that even though my sun sign is Cancer and I don’t like making changes, there’s a part of me that thrills to courting danger. I don’t change directions easily, but once I make a decision that I want something, I go for it, and nothing can hold me back.”

Now finish the same sentence from your perspective.

Something most people don’t know about me is… that I’d like to jump into the picture on the cover of our latest release, The Lady Wants More. I write lesbian and bisexual characters with my husband because they turn me on, and I love this cover by Alessia Brio. The smile on Brenda’s face is beyond enticing, and I’m hooked. Wonder if they have room for a third?

[CJ: :-O Now there’s an honest answer!]

Why do you write? What do you hope to achieve? 

I’m going to give you a very serious answer here [CJ: Fine by me!]. All our professional lives, both of us have seen ourselves as helping others, and that’s a major reason we write erotic romance. Truly. We celebrate sexuality and sexual freedom among consenting adults, and we want to be part of helping others do so. Especially, we celebrate the LGBTQ spectrum, in our writing and in our personal lives. We hope our stories turn people on and honor freedom of sexual expression. Oh, and we hope they’re fun.

[CJ: Cheers to that! I’m all for freedom of expression. :-)]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you’d like to hear more from Adriana, check out her blogfollow her on Twitter, or like her on Facebook.

If you’d like a turn in the HOT SEAT, let me know in the comments and I’ll schedule you in for a buttocks burning. 😀

5 Comments

Filed under Hot Seat, Writers, Writing

5 responses to “Adriana Kraft in the HOT SEAT

  1. adrianakraft

    Cally, thanks so much for interviewing me – it was a lot of fun!

  2. Grrr Lost my response lol! great interview ladies. It was a para long. I love Adriana’s work! I’ll be on the look out for this one 🙂

  3. adrianakraft

    sorry about that Hales – thanks for stopping by!!

What do you think?

