Rebecca Enzor in the HOT SEAT

Rebecca Enzor’s heart pounds, her hands go clammy and she begins to feel light headed. She knows she won’t escape this experience unscathed. But still, she steps forward and sits down on the HOT SEAT.

Rebecca Enzor

Gday, Rebecca!

Rebecca is a nuclear chemist from South Carolina, USA.  Because of the corrosive substances Rebecca deals with on a daily basis, she’s not allowed to bring writing folders into the lab, so she brings home most of her story notes and scenes on sticky notes, hence the title of her blog, Sticky Note Stories.

So, Rebecca, let’s get started. What genre(s) do you write?

New Adult, Young Adult, Fantasy and Magical Realism.

Tell us about Fie Eoin, your Work in Progress, in a limerick.

Twin sisters: a priestess, a warrior
Torn apart by the Obsidian courier
One fights for the tribe
One just to survive
As their future becomes even gorier

Most of us write part time. How do you spend your time when you’re not writing?

At work, I test soil, water and tissue samples for radioactivity, as well as pesticides, herbicides and PCBs (never fear! I’m keeping you safe :P). Outside of work and writing (and reading, of course) I like to garden, play with my dogs and cats (two dogs, three cats, one fish), go to the beach and play World of Warcraft.

Tell us a little about your writing process.

I always get very anxious when I have a new character lurking. I’m full of creative energy, but have no place to direct it, so I use that time to get to know the character and their world.

I’ll storyline through the entire novel once in my head, writing down notes or bits of dialogue on stickies, and when I’m ready to write I try to get the first draft out as fast as I can. I write linearly, because I get confused otherwise, but I edit jumping all over the manuscript, getting big important things right before I work on the details.

It takes me a long time to edit (which is mostly re-writing) so I don’t know what comes after that step for me yet. 🙂

Who or what are your biggest writing inspirations?

Donna Gillespie is a huge inspiration to me. Her writing is beautiful and I aspire to write as well as she does. As far as story inspirations, those come from anywhere, although mythology plays a huge part in all of my stories.

What have been the biggest challenges you’ve faced as a writer?

Editing. Learning all the rules for what makes a strong story and then applying them to my WIP. I was taught scientific writing, which is completely opposite from novel writing, so it’s been a struggle to unlearn how I’ve been taught to write and teach myself a new way. 

And now for the HOT SEAT questions

Hot Seat

*Insert scary music here*

If you were given a glimpse of the future and knew you would never publish any of your writing, would you continue to write?

Of course! I started writing for fun, and I decided a long time ago that I wanted to make my stories as good as they could be because my characters deserve it. Especially with my tendency to hurt them. Badly.

What fictional character are you most like and why? 

Oh gosh, this is hard. I know which characters I would like to be, but as for the character that I’m most like? For my own characters it’s Holly Thompson (and not just because she’s a nuclear chemist). I modeled her on myself, and we learned together how to not let people step all over us. But I usually read about characters stronger than myself, because I aspire to be like them 😛

I’d like to be all-around amazing like Auriane from The Light Bearer or a total bad-ass like Kara from Battlestar Gallactica, but I’m probably more like the selfish, wimpy Baltar from BSG (can you tell what I’ve been watching lately?).

If you could only read one genre for the rest of your life, what genre would you choose?

Fantasy 🙂 I love the different worlds and all the possibilities in Fantasy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks for taking a seat, Rebecca. I absolutely LOVE that limerick! Awesome work!

If you’d like to hear more from Rebecca, check out her blog or follow her on Twitter.

If you’d like a turn in the HOT SEAT, let me know in the comments and I’ll schedule you in for a buttocks burning. 😀

P.S. Don’t forget about the Power of Tension Blogfest that Rachel Morgan and I are hosting from 23-27 May!

31 Comments

Filed under Hot Seat, Writers, Writing

31 responses to “Rebecca Enzor in the HOT SEAT

  1. Amy

    Rebecca your book sounds like it’ll be great, can’t wait to read it! I’d like a turn in the hot seat! 🙂

  2. Great interview as always, Cally, and nice to meet you Rebecca – your book sounds terrific based on the limerick 🙂

  3. From the limerick that sounds like an awesome story! Love me some strong female characters, twins, and the tension between the individual vs. the community so this ticks a lot of boxes.
    – Sophia.

  4. Great interview!

    I love the limerick–it sounds like a fascinating story!

  5. Pingback: I’m in the Hot Seat! « Sticky Note Stories

  6. Wonderful meeting you, Rebecca! Good luck with your stories.

  7. People keep coming up with these great limericks! I still don’t have one…

    “If you were given a glimpse of the future and knew you would never publish any of your writing, would you continue to write?”
    —-> Excuse me? NEVER PUBLISH? Sorry. No. I don’t accept. Get me another future!

  8. HAHAHAHA that limerick is so awesome

    As your only CP to fly across country to meet you like a crazy stalker, I’m proud to know you in person

  9. Good interview, ladies! And what a cute smile.

  10. It’s true you can’t just write a character into your story and see where it goes, it’s like getting to know a real person to really make the character develop into a powerful force.

    • Thanks for dropping by, Jarvis. Some people seem to be able to sit down and just write, getting to know the character as the story progresses. I’m like you though, I prefer to know the character inside and out before I start writing their story. How can I do them justice otherwise? 😉

    • I like to throw my new characters in a cafe with a character I already know really well and see what happens. I usually learn about the newbie faster that way 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  11. Vicki Tremper

    It’s so cool to see how differently we each answer the common questions, and yet can relate to everybody’s answers. Editing is hard work! Cally, you do an awesome job with this. Rebecca, it’s awesome to meet you and I’m now following your blog and Twitter. See you gals around!

What do you think?

