Thanks, Mum!

Given that today is Mother’s Day in Australia, it seemed timely to give my Mummy-Bear a big public THANK YOU for all the wonderful things she’s done for me.

So Mum, I’d like to say thank you for:

  • fostering my love of books by reading to me as a child and giving me your copies of The Famous Five and The Secret Seven
  • being outraged at my year two teacher when she told me off for writing my own story instead of copying one from a book (for a handwriting exercise)
  • dressing up as Mrs Twit to accompany me as Mr Twit for Book Week in year four-ish
  • telling me I had bolognaise on my face so I could wipe it off and not embarrass myself in front of my new boyfriend (this may have happened 12 years ago, but I still remember!)
  • loving the first draft of my first-ever book and eagerly anticipating the (long-awaited) re-write
  • being the first person to subscribe to and comment on my blog (even if it did embarrass me a little!)
  • telling me how proud you are of me almost every time I see you
  • always being there for me, especially during the hard times (particularly last year. You know what I’m talking about.)
  • just being you!

 

Mum and I

Love you Mum!

What about you? What would you like to thank your mum for?

P.S. Don’t forget about the Power of Tension Blogfest that Rachel Morgan and I are hosting from 23-27 May!

17 Comments

Filed under Writing

17 responses to “Thanks, Mum!

  1. So sweet – love it! Thank you!

  2. Happy Mother’s Day to your mum! 🙂

  3. I have the best mom ever – (a seriously hard act to follow, I might add! I can only hope my kids will think half as much of me!) But aside from being kind, patient, loyal, supportive, encouraging, loving and all the things a mom should be, I have to thank her for choosing me. I was adopted when I was 11 months old, and I couldn’t have gotten a better family, so I will always be extra grateful to both my mom and my dad for deciding I was the daughter they wanted to have when they had a choice, and when others had passed me by like a puppy in a store window 🙂

  4. Beautiful! And how cool of her for telling your Year 2 teacher off 🙂

    Hugs,

    Rach

  5. Wonderful tribute. Happy Mum’s Day, over here in the UK it’s been a gone, though :O)

  6. Oh what a beautiful letter! And I love the collage of photos 🙂

  7. PS. I see you’re 20% into your Tangled first edit, which (if I’m doing my maths correctly) means you’ve edited over 30 000 words! That’s pretty good 🙂 My first edit is currently on, ahem, Chapter Three! (Though I am also working on a new WIP at the same time…)

    • Your maths is correct (and considering your occupation, I’d hope it would be). I’m making reasonably good progress but it’s just a read over to identify what’s getting the chop. Still got HEAPS of hard work ahead! Eeek! 🙂

  8. T.F.Walsh

    So sweet… I took my mum out for breakfast on Sunday and a long cup of coffee in the sun… they are the best:)

  9. Great tribute to your Mum! 🙂

What do you think?

