Sylvia van Bruggen in the HOT SEAT

But first…

You might be wondering why I’ve been a little quiet over the past few days. What’s that? You didn’t notice? Well, that’s depressing. And slightly awkward… *Sigh*

๐Ÿ˜‰

For those who did notice my absence, this is what I’ve been up to:

ย 
Easter camping

No technology, little protection from the elements, feral hair, dirt in your bed, smelling like camp fire - camping rocks!

Now, it’s time for my second willing participant to burn their buttocks in the HOT SEAT. So, without further ado, I introduce… Sylvia Van Bruggen!

Sylvia van Bruggen

Gday, Sylvia!

Sylvia is an aspiring author and an eccentric old lady in the making (her words!) who joins us from Lelystad in the Netherlands.

So, Sylvia, let’s get started. What genre(s) do you write?

I write mostly fantasy and science fiction. Don’t stick to any specific kind of fantasy or sci-fi, write throughout. Lately I am really drawn to steampunk, but that can change in a blink of an eye.

Tell us about your current WIPโ€ฆ in a limerick!

There once was a boy in Carthanan
Who got summoned by a magic man
He feared for his life
As magic seemed strife
But Death awaited him in the king’s clan

Most of us write part time. How do you spend your time when you’re not writing?

I think all time is writing time, everything I do gives me something writing related. The other day I walked through Amsterdam with myย husband and saw a boy staring breathlessly at a street musician.

Even though I was being a tourist, I got inspired for a fantasy story. ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, I love to visit towns, especially medieval ones, I am an avid reader, love to craft, to watch movies, to follow some tv shows, and to learn something new every day.

Tell us a little about your writing process.

It depends on my mood. Sometimes I can sit down behind my desk and write a story with such speed I have to read back to see what I wrote.
Sometimes I play first, doodle or play a game before I sit down to write a story.

With poetry I can’t just sit down. I need inspiration and I need pen and paper. Poetry needs to flow out of the tip of my pen. Short stories can be typed mostly.
ย 
For editing I need to keep myself playful and focused. Cookies are also good ๐Ÿ™‚

Who or what are your biggest writing inspirations?

There have been many, but the past 10 years or so it’s been Neil Gaiman.

What have been the biggest challenges youโ€™ve faced as a writer?

Fear. Fear kept me from doing so much. Not anymore, I have found that play is a great way to keep fear at bay and the writing coming. Also physical issues. When in pain I find it hard to focus on writing. Again, play helps in that.

And now for the HOT SEAT questions

Hot Seat

*Insert scary music here*

Finish this sentence from your main character’s perspective:

Life would be a lot easier if…ย  I could just have stayed in the tavern, scrubbing the pots and serving ales to the common folk. What does someone as low of birth as me do amongst kings and nobility? Yet, when the calling comes, one answers or dies.

Now finish the same sentence from your perspective.

Life would be a lot easier if…ย  I would remember every single idea I get. When inspiration strikes I don’t always have the notion to write it down, as I so easily get lost in the twists and turns the muse offers up for me.

If you could only read the work of three authors for the rest of your life, which authors would you choose?

Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett, Robin Hobb.

Thanks so much, this has been a LOT of fun!ย 

Thanks for taking a seat, Sylvia! It’s been great getting to know you. ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

If you’d like to hear more from Sylvia, subscribe to her blog or follow her on Twitter.

If you’d like a turn in the HOT SEAT, let me know in the comments and I’ll schedule you in for a buttocks burning.

14 Comments

Filed under Hot Seat, Writers, Writing

14 responses to “Sylvia van Bruggen in the HOT SEAT

  1. Great interview! I have the same problem with not always writing things down when inspiration strikes. I always think I’ll remember an idea that good, and then kick myself when I can’t ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sylvia van Bruggen

    That looks great, Cally! Thank you for the opportunity!

  3. Great interview – and love those hot seat questions! Look forward to seeing more from you Sylvia!

  4. I’m guilty of not having read any of those 3 authors!

  5. Vicki Tremper

    Nice to meet you, Sylvia. Those hot seat questions were tough!

  6. Loved your hot seat questions!

What do you think?

