As Tangled as a jellyfish’s tentacles

box-jellyfish

Delighted. Inspired. Motivated… That’s how I felt when I finished chapter 91 of Tangled (my novel in progress) this afternoon. It was one of the trickiest chapters I’ve had to write for a while and I was really happy with how it turned out.

Here’s a little taste for you:

The sun beat down as we walked along the footpath. Before long, perspiration trickled between my shoulder blades, across my forehead, in the creases of my elbows, and I began to feel light headed. My gaze stayed downward as we approached the cracked wooden steps that led towards the beach. I slipped off my sandals, walked down the steps and bit my lip as the soft sand burnt my feet. Without looking up, I ran towards the ocean, desperate to reach the water. Bek followed behind me, laughing as we sprinted across the hot sand.

When I hit the water’s edge, my feet cooled instantly and spray splashed up my shins. Only then did I raise my eyes and take in the view — foam-tipped waves rising and crashing, clusters of swimmers in bright-coloured bathers, and off in the distance, the intersection of light and dark blue, where the ocean and sky embraced.’

You might remember that in last week’s post, I said that I’d changed my chapter breakdown for the remaining plot and so I had nine chapters left to write. I also said, ‘at least I’m confident now that the chapter breakdown should work’. Well, I changed my mind on that. Yep, I tinkered with my chapter breakdowns yet again. The result? I now have ten chapters left. Doh!

Will you believe me if I say that I’m now confident the chapter breakdown will work? No? But, really, I am! 🙂

These last ten chapters should be quite short – the majority under 1000 words.  So I’ve decided to capitalise on my current enthusiasm and set myself a new deadline. Drum roll…

kid playing drums

I am now aiming to finish the first draft of Tangled by Thursday 21 April (the day before Good Friday in Australia). We’re going camping over Easter, and I would love to be able to drive off on that holiday with a complete draft behind me – and by that, I mean leaving it behind and spending the entire holiday relaxing, without writing a word.

I’ve put a little box up in the side menu on the right so you can count down with me – and hopefully cheer me on too! 🙂  

How about you? Set yourself any deadlines lately?

26 Comments

Filed under Progress update, Tangled, Writing

26 responses to “As Tangled as a jellyfish’s tentacles

  1. Good luck with your first draft–you can do it! 🙂

    I want to finish rewrites and some revisions of my current WIP by the end of the summer, at the latest. It sounds like a lot of time, but it took me 16 months to get down the first draft and inspiration often comes in fits and spurts.

  2. Best of luck to ya! I set New Years goals, and really dropped the ball 😦 I just had a BDay, so I’ll work out goals now.

  3. Congratulations! I like your excerpt, and it must feel great to be so close to the end. Good luck with the rest.

    I need to set some deadlines for myself. And some strict rules for blogging/reading blogs/twittering. I’m spending so much time social networking and critiquing other people’s stuff that I haven’t written much all year. But I love helping other people with their books too. *sigh* When will I get this balance thing figured out?

    • Thanks, Charity. Great to hear that you enjoyed the excerpt.

      It’s definitely hard to get that balance right between social networking, critiquing, writing and reading. I’ve only been blogging for a little while and so far I’ve found it’s actually motivated me to do MORE writing, rather than less. What’s really suffered though is my book-reading, because I’m now spending that time either writing or reading blog posts! Balance – the eternal quest. 🙂

  4. Good luck!! I can’t wait to hear that you’re all done. 😀 I’ve read a few blog posts this weekend announcing first draft finishes. yay!! 🙂

  5. mel

    go cally u can do it! 🙂

  6. Congratulations finishing your chapter! Good luck finishing your book as well. That would be so nice to go an vacation during Easter and just relax. No deadlines or anything.
    I’m working on my current WIP and hope to have the first draft done by the end of April. We’ll see if it happens! 😀

    • Thanks, Chantele! Yes I’m definitely hoping I can have a writing and deadline free Easter. Fingers crossed.

      Best of luck with your first draft too. We can cheer each other on! 🙂

  7. Best of luck on finishing your draft! You can do it! Personally, I have deadlines for everything — they’re my personal motivators 🙂

  8. I love that excerpt! I like your writing style a lot. Good luck with your last 10 chapters. That is so exciting. I’ll be rooting for you!

  9. I hope you meet your deadline and get to go on your vacation with that complete draft behind you! Sounds like a terrific goal! I don’t have any deadlines set for myself at the moment, I’m kind of in waiting mode, waiting to hear back from other people.

    • Thanks, Susan. I’m very hopeful that I’ll be able to reach that goal.

      I’m familiar with that waiting mode – it can become very frustrating. Have you considered starting something new (even just a short story) to keep your mind occupied?

  10. Woohoo! Sounds like you are well on your way. Good luck with your last chapters!

  11. Here’s me cheering you on! I’m so enjoying the “finished” feeling that I can’t wait for you to feel it too!

  12. Congratulations and good luck on finishing!

  13. Pingback: As Tangled as melted mozzarella | Cally Jackson Writes

What do you think?

