Singapore: an amazing country, an awesome week

As many of you know, Mark (Hubby) and I spent the past week on holidays in Singapore, seeing the sights, sampling the food, and exploring the city. You might be asking, why Singapore? Well, the main motivation was that Mark’s brother (David), David’s wife (Hiromi) and their cheeky four-year-old (John) live there. Close family overseas = great excuse for a holiday!

Before I left Australia, all I knew about Singapore was that it’s in Asia, is densely populated but very clean, is mainly a stop-over city, and makes a great laksa (according to David). Mark didn’t know much more than me, so our mission for the week was to see as much of the country as possible – which was surprisingly challenging for a country of only 682 square km (Brisbane is 1,200 square km on its own)!

For me, the highlights of the trip were:

  • fine dining at a vertigo-inducing altitude restaurant
View at night

The view from our table

Singapore slings all round

Singapore slings all round

  • getting soaked on the Jurassic Park rapids ride at Universal Studios (I know, I’m a kid at heart)
Mark with T-Rex

Eek!

After the rapids

Chose the wrong seats!

  • exploring the city at a leisurely pace and taking in the extraordinary architecture (so much diversity!)
The Fullerton Hotel

The Fullerton Hotel

Marina Bay Sands Hotel

Marina Bay Sands Hotel

Temple

Temple

Boat Quay

Boat Quay

 

  • spending quality time with David, Hiromi, John and Mark.

The parts I didn’t enjoy so much were:

  • being brazenly ogled at by Indian men
  • getting stung by a tourist trap – turns out the prawns weren’t $28 all up, they were $28 each!
Mark's delectable dinner

Mark's 'delectable' dinner

Bill: what the?!

What the?!

My sad face

My sad face

  • not being able to find a laksa that wasn’t seafood based (yes, I’m fussy!).

And some things that made me laugh were:

  • Singaporean’s obsession with milo
Milo dinosaur

Milo dinosaur

  • Mark’s irreverence (not entirely discouraged by me…)
Mark & tribal lady

Reckon he's cursed now?

  • and… this guy!
Monkey: just hanging out

Just hanging out

All in all, I found Singapore to be a wonderful place to visit, and quite inspiring too. It will definitely make its way into my writing in the future, in some way or another. What about you – visited anywhere interesting recently? Have any foreign countries ever inspired your writing?

If you’d like to see some more photos from our trip, visit this public facebook album.

11 Comments

Filed under Singapore

11 responses to “Singapore: an amazing country, an awesome week

  1. It looks like you had a really good time. Oh yeah, I would have had a fit with that bill too. Yeah, tourist trap, my hubs would have been crazy. That is insane. However, as long as you made great memories and you had a great time. That is all that matters. 🙂

    • It was definitely a shock when we got that bill. I wouldn’t believe Mark until he showed me. But you’re absolutely right – the rest of the holiday was wonderful and that’s what matters.

  2. It looks like you had a good time in Singapore!

  3. Su

    Very cool! I’m totally jealous!

  4. Omg, looks like so much fun!

    I want to go abroad again. Such a blast…

    Fond memories.

  5. Pingback: Singapore: an amazing country, an awesome week | Cally Jackson Writes - Affordable Tickets to Singapore | Affordable Tickets to Singapore

  6. Gorgeous pictures! You’ve put it on my to-do list (Singapore…not the prawns…yikes!)

  7. Sounds like it was a wonderful trip… although I’m not envious of your prawn experience!

What do you think?

