As Tangled as a hippy’s hair

As another weekend draws to a close, the question on everybody’s minds is not, ‘What will Monday bring?’ but ‘Did Cally meet her writing target this week?’

So, to put you all out of your misery, I’ll tell you….

Yes, I did. Chapter 84 is now complete. Hooray!

Here’s a taste: 

‘Seeing him like that, my heart started beating real fast and weird, and every hair on the back of my neck stood up. I moved forward and tried to take the shovel from him, but it was like his hands’d been soldered to it or something. I had to pry each finger off the handle to get the shovel loose. Just as I pulled it away from him, he dropped to his knees, right beside the hole. He leant forward till his forearms were against the ground, and his whole body started shaking. Then he started moaning. This real low moan that I could barely even hear, but that still cut right through me.

Oh dear! Glad that’s Seb and not me! As always, keen to hear what you think. 🙂

9 Comments

Filed under Random

9 responses to “As Tangled as a hippy’s hair

  1. Nice work, burning through that WIP!

  2. Wow, sounds like there’s a lot of pain in this little excerpt…

  3. Good for you on writing that chapter!

  4. Oh, interesting to hear it’s the pointy end. Kudos for reaching the end. Very strong, emotional writing. It makes me wonder what all came before it and now that I know it’s the end, how this was the resolution. Great job!

    • Eek, I should probably clarify, it’s not the VERY end, more the climax of one particular plot line- that’s what I meant when I said the ‘pointy end’. Maybe that doesn’t mean what I think it means! But thank you so much for your comments. I really appreciate them! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. Oh. My. Chapter 84? Wow! How many pages or words so far? Way to go.
    🙂

What do you think?

