All about me (and 15 other people)…

A lie revealed

On Wednesday, I posted my response to the first crusader challenge, which had to include one secret, one lie, one interesting quirk, one annoying habit, one of my best character traits, and one of my favourite things in the whole world.

These were:

  • Secret: I have a touch of OCD (not much of a secret for those who know me well!)
  • Interesting quirk: when I’m writing, I can only listen to music where the singer is the same gender as my narrator
  • Annoying habit: matching the colour of the clothes with the colour of the pegs when I’m hanging out the washing
  • Best character traits: always being there for my friends
  • One of my favourite things: I included three: my husband Mark, my dog Lucy, and writing
  • Not one of my favourite things: doing the washing.

 And drumroll…

  • The lie: I’m not allergic to green ants.

Congratulations Jolene, Laura, Regina, projectfraeya, Eileen, Joy and Amanda. You all guessed correctly. I had a number of other interesting guesses and comments though, including many who’d never heard of green ants. Unfortunately, they are real (see Wikipedia for more info) and we do have loads of them in our back yard. I’m just not allergic to them, thank goodness.

 Very interestingly, Mark (my beloved husband) wasn’t sure what the lie was. When I told him it was the green ant allergy, he said that he’d assumed so, but suspected I might have thought I was allergic, since I’m such a baby when it comes to being bitten. Gee, thanks, hon! I’ll remember that next time a green ant munches on your big toe. 😉

 Stylish blogger award

Moving on, I’m delighted to say that this week I’ve been honoured with not one but two ‘Stylish Blogger’ awards, from Laura J Moss and Cleveland Dietz II. Aww, shucks… Thanks, guys!

 Stylish blogger awardNow that I’ve received this award, I must pass it on to 15 stylish bloggers I’ve recently discovered. (Don’t think I’m not grateful, but does this seem like the blogging equivalent of a chain letter to anyone else?)

The other condition of this award is that I must reveal seven things about myself. Luckily for me, I’ve already revealed five things above! So, two more. Hmm. Better make them interesting. Here goes:

  • When I was 19, I was involved in a head-on collision with a drunk driver.  I had to be cut from the vehicle and broke my jaw, both ankles and my foot (don’t worry, I recovered 100%.)
  • While on my honeymoon (aged 20) in Thailand, I was bitten by a monkey. I’m still waiting for the rabies to kick in….

 Stylish bloggers

And now, to pass on the honour of being deemed a stylish blogger. My awards go to:

For being one of the best networking enablers I’ve ever ‘met’:

 For challenging me with her thought-provoking posts:

 For giving me valuable tips about how best to enter the blogosphere:

 For entertaining me with a topic I’d never normally read about:

 And for never failing to capture my interest with their blog posts:

 Check them out – they’re uber stylish. 😉

11 Comments

Filed under Blogger award, Writers Crusade, Writing

11 responses to “All about me (and 15 other people)…

  1. Ha, I was one of those people that doubted these “green ants” of yours. Thanks for the wikipedia link!

    Sorry to hear about your car accident and monkey bite. (How often can a person say, “Sorry about your monkey bite?”

    Thanks for the link back. I really enjoyed this post. 🙂

    • Glad to hear you enjoyed it!

      And thanks for your sympathy re car accident and monkey bite. The only evidence of the bite is occasional frothing at the mouth. Haha, just kidding. 😉

  2. Darn, I got it wrong! LOL. Great way of hiding the lie!

    Congratulations on the award, and thank you so much for passing it on!

  3. Congratulations, stylish blogger! And thank you, thank you for passing it on to me 🙂

    PS. never seen a green ant before!

  4. Aww, thank you so much for the award! 😀 That makes my Monday ^_^

    And a monkey?!? That’s crazy. Although I think I’d rather be bit by a monkey than an ant (those hurt so bad!)

  5. Thank you, dear! So excited to havemade the list of a stylin blogger like yourself 🙂

  6. Hi Cally, hope you can join in the collaborative fun this March. Submissions for Cadavre Exquis are open at my site: http://chenoafawn.wordpress.com/ under the Writing Lab menu.

  7. LOL, yep, I’ve seen green ants (I won’t mention the edible part or it would freak people out *winks*).

    Congrats on your award Cally, and thanks for passing it on to me (squeeee!) 🙂 Best of luck with your edits!

    Hugs,

    Rach

  8. Great post. And there is nothing wrong with a little OCD going on. It happens. I enjoyed getting to know more about you.

What do you think?

