Crusading challenge number one – my attempt!

The first challenge for the authors’ platforming-building crusade has been set – a get-to-know-you with a twist. And as I’ve surfed around the blogosphere, dutifully following my fellow crusaders’ blogs, I’ve seen there’s some stiff competition out there. Am I intimidated? Of course!

So what’s the challenge? In 300 words or less, I must tell one secret, one lie, one interesting quirk, one annoying habit, one of my best character traits, and one of my favourite things in the whole world. The post can be in any format but must include the words “bloviate”, “fuliguline”, “rabbit”, and “blade”, and it must end with “I may have revealed something about me that isn’t strictly true, can you guess what it is?”

My attempt is below. Let the guessing begin! (Unless you’re a friend or family member. You know the truth, so you’re not allowed to guess. :-))

 

A (Satur)day in the life of Cally

After a beautiful breakfast with my husband on our deck, I go downstairs to hang out the washing on our Hills Hoist clothesline. This menial task takes me longer than most as I insist on matching the colour of the pegs with the colour of the clothes. I’ve tried to break this habit, but it feels wrong and makes me uncomfortable – obsessive compulsive, perhaps?

I wish I could go barefoot and feel the blades of grass between my toes, but I’m allergic to green ants and our backyard’s full of them. I don’t fancy spending the afternoon in hospital, so my shoes stay on my feet. While I slowly make my way through the washing basket, my Maltese, Lucy, sits next to me, toy in mouth, begging me to try and take it. I smile, knowing if I so much as move in her direction, she’ll take off faster than a rabbit. It’s one of her favourite games.

When I finally finish the washing, I return to the deck with my laptop to write the next chapter of my novel. Because the chapter is from Seb’s perspective, I have Kings of Leon playing – the gender of the singer must match the gender of the narrator. Weird, I know.

This chapter should be easy; it’s about Seb getting frustrated with his best mate as he bloviates about his sexual prowess. But today, the words won’t come. They swim through my mind in a fuliguline fashion, not staying long enough to grasp.

Just as an idea forms, my mobile rings – it’s a friend who’s going through a hard time, calling for support. I answer instantly, because although I desperately want to finish that chapter, nothing’s more important than my friends.

I may have revealed something about me that isn’t strictly true, can you guess what it is?

22 Comments

Filed under Competitions, Writers Crusade, Writing

22 responses to “Crusading challenge number one – my attempt!

  1. The pegs definitely have to match the clothes, and the gender of the singer must absolutely match the narrator – I hope they’re not lies because I understand completely 🙂 Ew green ants – poor you! (Unless that’s the lie…? Sheesh!)

  2. Hmmm….I’ve never heard of green ants, but if they’re anything like our fire (red) ants here in the State, then they’re evil biting bastards.

    I agree with Jolene…I don’t think those were your lies, because I can relate too closely to those kinds of ‘issues’.

    I think the lie is that the words won’t come. I think you banged out some major wordage. I hope so, anyway. 🙂

    Hugs,
    Lola

  3. Hnm. I’m going to say that the wanting to walk around barefoot is the lie. It just doesn’t fit with the other OCDness lurking about with the color-coded clothes pegs and the music fitting the MC.

  4. You’re not allergic to green ants? Either that or you had zero writer’s block and the words just flowed on Saturday.

  5. I’m guessing that you are not allergic to green ants. But I could be wrong. Great post by the way. Fellow crusader stopping by and n0w following.

  6. Hello fellow crusader! I am a tad bit late, the whole house has been sick all week. So, I just thought I would pop in and just say Hi! 😀

    And I say that your fib is that you finished the washing…cuz we all know, we NEVER finish the washing!

    • Yes, you are right. It’s impossible to finish the washing. But that wasn’t my lie. At least, not intentionally. The lie was that I’m allergic to green ants. They hurt, but I’m not allergic.

  7. projectfraeya

    Yes your are right this blog design is very pretty 🙂
    Not sure what the fib is, green ants?

  8. onceupona

    Hmmm, well I guess I will go against the flow here and say that your clips are wooden so they can’t match the clothes. Just a guess though… seems like you’d have too many colors to match all the color clothes you have anyway. Cheers!

  9. I would guess the gender of the singer doesn’t have to match that of the narrator when you write.

    Great Challenge post!

  10. I agree with onceupona, colored clips is the lie. 🙂

  11. Hi Cally, I have heard of people wanting the same colour pegs on an item. Matching the peg colour to the clothes would require rainbow pegs. If this isn’t ‘the lie’, I’d like to know where you found your pegs 🙂

    In March I’m running a collective writing experiment which you might enjoy:

    http://tinyurl.com/4zd7or7

    Chenoa

    • Hi Chenoa, I do indeed try to match the colour of my pegs with the colour of my clothes. Emphasis on the word ‘try’. Unfortunately (or perhaps thankfully) my pegs are not as varied in colour as my clothes so I often have to make do with the closest colour. If I had more variety, hanging out the washing would probably take me twice as long!

  12. My bet’s on the green ants! I totally understand the peg thing…

  13. I’m guessing Seb is really shy about his sexual prowess (or lack of it) and wouldn’t bloviate on the subject.

    Good to meet you, crusader.

  14. Joy

    Nice to meet you. I hope the lie is that you’re allergic to green ants.
    Kinda picky that your singer has to be the same sex as who you’re writing about, but then we’re writers- we’re entitled. 😀

  15. I will guess it’s the green ants…I haven’t heard of green ones-I watch Discovery Channel so obviously I am an expert;) heehee- so maybe you are allergic to red ants?? I was going to go with hanging your clothes out to dry as the lie, because while that sounds lovely and romanticly old fashioned, I can imagine it’d get tiresome, especially when there is poor weather! Yikes! But I’ve heard there is nothing like the smell of line dried clothes…

  16. briscribes

    Green ants? Do they believe in renewable energy?

  17. Hey Cally,

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. Don’t stress I still have HEAPs of work to do on mine. Be a slow process. By the way, do you have a better way of contacting you rather than leaving a random comment on your blog? i can’t get to an email or email reply (as that was how i was going to reply)

    As for green ants!! well!!! i AM allergic to green ants. My WHOLE hand swells up (or where ever i get bitten) it is horrible.

    Are you allergic like me, or is this just the lie?

    anyway talk to you soon. I still want to eventually get the Brisbane writers thing going, we will see.

    Talk later

    Sarah

  18. Pingback: All about me (and 15 other people)… | Cally Jackson

  19. Pingback: Thanks to Rach and her crusaders! | Cally Jackson Writes

What do you think?

